Thompson Healthcare
ACCESS AVAILABLE FOR TULANE HEALTHCARE-RELATED PROGRAMS.
Academic Subscription from Thomson.
- MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series:
Martindale : the complete drug reference (online) is integrated in this resource. It includes unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care and alternative medicine. Evidence based information is included. - CareNotes™ System Patient information with complete, easy-to-understand information about all aspects of their care, medications, and health, in English or Spanish.
- Martindale : the complete drug reference QV 738 FA1 M3e (Matas Library)
NeoFax
Neonate Drug Dosing and Parenteral Nutrition calculators. From MICROMEDEX.

This site requires Internet Explorer version 5.0 or higher
- NeoFax

Keyword: TURML
User Name: Matas
Password: Tulane
Must be on campus.
Drug actions, identification and adverse effects.
A guide developed by the Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences, 1430 Tulane Ave. 2nd floor.
This site is a collection of article databases, library resources, weblinks and research tips compiled by the librarians at the Tulane Libraries. Just use the tabs above to start your research!
For assistance contact the Rudolph Matas Library reference desk @ (504) 988-5155 or medref@tulane.edu
NLM Drug Information Portal
![]()
- NLM Drug Information Portal.
A gateway to current, accurate and understandable drug information from the National Library of Medicine
Drug Resources- Beyond the PDR
- AHFS DRUG INFORMATION® 2009
Stat!Ref. Big Red Book" provides more evidence-based data. AHFS DI is an unbiased source of drug information. - DrugPoints® System
Stat!Ref - Electronic Orange Book
Product information for new generic drug approvals. - Handbook on injectable drugs
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists® - Injectable product information, route(s) of administration with detailed compatability and stability information on commerical drugs, investigational drugs and agents available outside the U.S. - Johns Hopkins: The Harriet Lane Handbook,Part VI – Formulary IN MDConsult - Chapter 29 – Drug Doses
- Lexi-Comp's Comprehensive Drug-to-Drug, Drug-to-Herb and Herb-to-Herb Interaction Analysis Program

Part of UpToDate, LIMITED ACCESS (no proxy available) - Licensed by SOM or Hospital for specific buildings. Proxy is not available. - MD Consult - Drugs
http://home.mdconsult.com/groups/tulane9314.html - Stat!Ref -- Choose "Drug Information" (Search by Discipline)
Resources Include: DRUGPOINTS® SYSTEM -- LITT'S DRUG ERUPTION REFERENCE MANUAL - 12th Ed. (2006) -- AHFS Drug Information® (2009) - Choose "Drug Information" - The Harriet Lane handbook (Online)
Pediatrician's reference for diagnostic and management guidance, recommended tests, complete therapeutic information, and comprehensive drug formulary.
REGULATORY SOURCES
- From Test Tube To Patient: New Drug Development in the United States
(FDA Consumer special issue) - Drugs@FDA
- FDA/Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
A consumer watchdog in America's healthcare system. CDER evaluates new drugs before they can be sold.
Sources of Drug Information
Some key resources for identification of drug names (trade and generic). Availalbe in the Matas Library Reference Area.
- The United States pharmacopeia. National formulary.
Call Number: QV 738 AA1 P49
CD-ROM available: USP 31 - NF 26, cd-rom Official from May 1, 2008 - American drug index
Call Number: QV 772 Am3 - USP dictionary of USAN and international drug names.
Call Number: QV 15 Un31 - The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologica
Call Number: QV 772 M53i.14 2006
+CD-ROM: Chemistry’s constant companion - Remington : the science and practice of pharmacy.
Call Number: QV 704 R38.21 2006
Text + CD-ROM - Handbook of nonprescription drugs - American Pharmaceutical Association
Call Number: QV 772 H19
Guide to Resources
- Drug Information: A Guide to Current Resources. - Snow, Bonnie.
Call Number: Z QV 4 Sn674d.2 1999 (MEDICAL LIBRARY - Reference)
ISBN/ISSN: Medical Library Association and The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 1999.
For additional resources including international resources for drug information consult this excellent guide to the pharmaceutical literature.
Rudolph Matas Library |
Reference DepartmentEMBASE.COM - Drug Search!

- EMBASE.COM - Drug Search
Choose "Routes of Drug Administration" with drug subheadings, such as "Adverse Reaction". Find articles from the world wide medical literature.
Academic Web
- Google Scholar
Broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across many disciplines and sources. - Scirus -
Scientific research tool on the web.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait