ManuscriptsMicroformsDigital
This is the "Home" page of the "Jewish Studies Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Jewish Studies Research Guide  

Research tools for Jewish Studies.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/jewishstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Resources

  • Ethnic American Newspapers (1799-1971)  
      
    Provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. Currently available titles highlight Irish & Jewish immigrant newspapers. This collection will expand as new titles are digitized, and will eventually include over 130 newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states.
  • Social Explorer
    Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”; it also includes religious census information It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1790 to the present.
 

Tulane Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Your guide for Jewish Studies resources

Welcome to the Jewish Studies research guide!

This site is a collection of article databases, library resources, weblinks and research tips compiled by the librarians at the Tulane Libraries.

Just use the tabs above to start your research!

If you need instant help, chat with a librarian using the Chat box on the right--->
---or call the Howard-Tilton Library reference desk @ (504) 865-5606

 

Description of Department of Jewish Studies at Tulane

Beginning in the Fall of 2012 Jewish Studies will be a stand-alone department within the School of Liberal Arts.



About Jewish Studies

The Tulane program uses methods of history to gain accurate insights into the Jews' past; sociological analysis to find the larger patterns of Jewish behavior and social interaction; and the study of philosophy to examine the comprehensive understandings of humanity and nature proposed by Jewish thinkers.

The department’s emphasis is on the modern Jewish experience, in addition, language, literature and musicology are studied in order to explore the diverse cultural creations of the Jews and the method of social anthropology allows students to characterize Jewish religion and to define its impact upon the lives of its past and present adherents. Through these several approaches, Jewish Studies attempts to comprehend the Jewish experience and to examine the identities and ways of life that Jews have developed in order to make sense of the worlds in which they have lived.


Social Science and Government Documents Librarian

Profile Image
Eric Wedig
Contact Info
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
Collection Development
Phone 504-865-5644
Send Email
 

Ask Us!


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip