This is the "Home" page of the "Collections Group" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Collections Group  

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/collections Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collection Development

Collection development for the general collections of Howard-Tilton Memorial Library is described through the library's Collection Development Manual (click on the image below) and its subject area collections policies. The manual is updated periodically by a Collection Management Group comprised of the Associate Dean of Libraries, three Chief Bibliographers, the Director of the Library American Library, the Director of Technical Services, and the Head of Acquisitions.  The policies are comprehensive sets of statements about how materials are collected for each discipline, in a framework designed to reflect the academic department and cross-departmental academic program structure of the university.  They are regularly updated by subject liaison librarians assigned to each academic department.

 

  

 

The Collections Group

The Collections Group meets monthly and its purpose is to communicate important campus or library news and to discuss ongoing collection development activities, planning, and special projects. This group includes all librarians with general collections responsibilities (including chief bibliographers and subject liaisons) as well as department and unit heads from related areas in Special Collections, The Latin American Library, Technical Services, and User Services and Library IT.  The meeting is led by the Associate Dean of Libraries. Summaries of these monthly meetings are routinely distributed to the html-l@tulane.edu listserv.

Primary Contact

Andy Corrigan
Contact Info
Associate Dean of Libraries
Office: Rm 422
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
Tulane University
New Orleans, LA 70118
504-865-5679
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip