Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Citation Management Tools

A guide to citation and bibliography management tools that help you collect, store, and organize your research.

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a citation management tool integrated into Web of Science. It allows you to import records from other databases too. If you have EndNote Desktop, you can sync it with EndNote Basic.

All Tulane University students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free EndNote Basic account.

 

EndNote X7

EndNote X7 is the latest edition of EndNote Desktop, which allows you to create your own personal library of references to books, articles and documents. EndNote works with Microsoft Word and other word processors to automatically add references to your paper and format your bibliography in the proper style.

 

How do I get EndNote X7?
Tulane University does not offer a site license for EndNote X7 but it is available for purchase:

Vendor Website (A free 30-day trial is available)
Tulane University Software Distribution Center (Lower price for Tulane affiliates)

 

How can I use EndNote to search Tulane University Libraries' catalog?

You can search the library’s catalog using an EndNote connection file, so that references do not need to be retyped but can be directly imported into an EndNote library. To do this, you need to use the connection file titled "Tulane University." This file is now included when you install the EndNote software (along with connection files for many other libraries' catalogs).

If you are using an earlier version of EndNote and the file is not included with your install, it can be downloaded from the EndNote Web site. Save this file into the "Connections" folder within the EndNote folder on your computer.

Connection files will also work for searching free databases such as PubMed. These connection files should be included with your copy of EndNote.
 

How can I use EndNote to search Tulane's library databases?

Most of the library's paid database subscriptions cannot be searched directly using the EndNote connection files, because the connection files require that the database utilize a login and password to authenticate users. Because most databases now authenticate based on IP address recognition rather than a password, they cannot be searched directly using EndNote.

However, you can add records into an EndNote library by importing them:

  • Search the database and save the records; use the proper EndNote filter to import the records into the EndNote library.
  • Some databases now feature a "Direct Export" feature that allows you to skip several steps in the importing process.
Loading