Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

EndNote X9 for Tulane University

Learn how to use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online for their most common functions.

EndNote X9 Access

EndNote is a popular citation management program. You can use it to save and organize your references, insert and format citations and bibliographies, and to search library databases.

EndNote Desktop
EndNote X9 is available to Tulane students and faculty for free.

EndNote Online is the online component of EndNote. Use it to

  • access your collection of references from any computer with Internet access. You can also
  • search databases from it, and
  • export references from library databases to it, and
  • import saved references. You can
  • sync your desktop Endnote collection and your EndNote Online collection.

EndNote Online also has a Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in, so you don't have to be tied to one computer when writing a research paper.

All Tulane students and faculty have access to EndNote Online when you download the EndNote desktop software. You can sign up for an account at myendnoteweb.com. For verification purposes, you have to do this from a computer on the Tulane network, using your Tulane email address.

Installing EndNote X9 for Mac

* Tulane Authentication Required *

Mac users can simply download and install the "EndNoteX9SiteInstaller.dmg" file using the link below:

https://wavetulane-my.sharepoint.com/:f:/g/personal/software_wave_tulane_edu/EuP6W3DZ4kZFvfeVcve5N3cBKLUCXNf3wgvWP7rv4yvWOA?e=muW6dH

 

Compatibility and System requirements can here found here: https://endnote.com/product-details/compatibility/

Installing EndNote X9 for Windows

* Tulane Authentication Required *

Windows users must complete the following steps to install EndNote X9:

  1. Download the "EndNote X9 PC Installer.zip" file from the link below
  2. Right-click the ZIP file and click "Extract All"
  3. Extract all files from the ZIP archive to a location on your computer
  4. Run the "ENX9Inst.msi" installer file from the extracted folder. You must run the installer file from the extracted folder in order to install EndNote X9.

Download link: https://wavetulane-my.sharepoint.com/:f:/g/personal/software_wave_tulane_edu/EuP6W3DZ4kZFvfeVcve5N3cBKLUCXNf3wgvWP7rv4yvWOA?e=muW6dH


‚Äč

 

Compatibility and System Requirements can be found here: https://endnote.com/product-details/compatibility/

Installing the Capture Reference feature

  • You have to install the EndNote Online plug-in for Internet Explorer or Firefox to use this feature.
  • If you have the EndNote Online plug-in for Internet Explorer installed, you can choose to download references to EndNote Online or another Thomson Reuters research software application if one is also installed.
  • At this time, EndNote Online is not able to import records from resources that do not have an identifiable mimetype defined in the export file. This limitation only applies to the Firefox plug-in.
  • For Firefox users, if you have installed Zotero, you may need to unselect Zotero's handling of RIS files in Zotero preferences.

A default reference type, the type most commonly used, is assigned to each Resource. After saving the reference with Capture, confirm that the reference type is correct and all fields indicated with asterisks are complete.

Courtesy of the University of Pittsburgh Library System

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.