Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Jewish Studies Research Guide

Research tools for Jewish Studies.

Selected Journals

Scholarly Databases

Howard-Tilton Memorial Library subscribes to many databases that may be of use to Jewish studies research. While most databases of scholarly literature are organized by discipline, Jewish studies is often an interdisciplinary endeavor, so several may be useful for any one research project. If the databases selected below do not meet your current research needs, please contact a librarian for further assistance.

Religion & Humanities

Use Databases & Indexes (the terms are often used interchangeably) to identify research articles, technical reports, book chapters, and other materials on your topic. You may need to search more than one database to locate the most appropriate materials for your information need.

History & Social Sciences

For research in history and the social sciences, try one of the following discipline-specific databases.  Each indexes the journals of a particular subject area, and may include studies relating to Jewish history, politics, and other aspects of Jewish life.

General & Interdisciplinary Databases

The following are more general, interdisciplinary databases. If your search terms are not sufficiently specific, you may get a lot of "false returns" or articles only tangentially relevant to your topic.  While they do contain a lot of full text, save these general search tools for when you need to step outside your discipline-specific databases.

Getting the full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the TU Link button. This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to the library catalog to see if we have the full-text in print.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.