ArchaeologyCultural AnthropologyLinguisticsPhysical Anthropology
This is the "Home
 " page of the "Anthropology Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Anthropology Research Guide  

Research Tools for Anthropology.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/anthropology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home
 
Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Looking for Journal Articles?

Anthropology is a diverse field of study, so choose the right database for your research needs.

  • For any of the four fields--archaeology, cultural, linguistics, or physical anthropology--Anthropology Plus is a good starting point.
  • Archaeologists can find many great articles in the scientific database Web of Science.
  • Cultural anthropologists might also explore Social Sciences Abstracts, a database with broad coverage of the social sciences. 
  • Linguistic anthropologists may benefit from searching in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
  • Physical anthropologists should consult Web of Science. Also, PrimateLit is great for specialists in primate behavior and related topics.

  Links to these databases below!  

Select a Database

  • Anthropology Plus  
      
    Comprehensive index of bibliographic materials from the late 19th century to today, covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and interdisciplinary studies. Combines Harvard's Anthropological Literature database and UK's Anthropological Index.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  
      
    Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
  • PrimateLit  
      
      Icon
    The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories and subject areas
    Note: While still a great resource, PrimateLit ceased adding new citations in 2010 due to lack of funding. Try PsycINFO or Web of Science for more recent scholarship.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts and Full Text  
      
    Provides abstracts and some full text in various social science areas including Anthropology, Area Studies, Economics, Environmental Studies, Gender Studies, and Sociology.
  • Web of Science
    An index to over 8000 highly ranked scientific journals. Perform a traditional search for articles, or conduct a 'cited reference search' to find how many times an article has been cited since being published. Coverage from 1976-present.

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Adam Beauchamp
Research & Instruction Librarian
Contact Info
504-247-1785
abeaucha@tulane.edu
Send Email
What I do in the library:
I teach people how to find and think critically about information, especially in the social sciences. E-mail me a question, or ask for a one-on-one research appointment.

More Databases

Visit the Find Articles tab for additional database suggestions.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip