Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science

Program Description

General political science, American politics, comparative politics, international relations, and political theory constitute the work and mission of the political science department. Each teaching field explores political phenomena across a range of geographic, cultural, and temporal settings. Undergraduates are the major focus of departmental teaching, although the M. A. and Ph. D. degrees are also offered. A combination J. D./M. A. degree is possible. Nineteen faculty and eight adjunct faculty are employed by the department. The political science department participates in the following interdepartmental programs: American Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Asian Studies, Italian Studies, Russian Studies, Women's Studies, Medieval Studies, Environmental Studies, the Murphy Institute of Political Economy.

Department Contact

Book Chair

Nancy Maveety


Dept Chair

Nancy Maveety


Dept Web Site

Department of Political Science


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.