Library Guides: Public Health Portal: Databases

Discipline-Specific Public Health Databases

Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

PubPsych
PubPsych is a free information retrieval system for psychological resources. It offers a comprehensive and balanced selection of resources from a growing number of international databases with a European focus, covering the needs of academic and professional psychologists.

Biomedical

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text for nursing & allied health journal literature.

LILACS (Latin American Caribbean Health Sciences Literature

Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical, pharmaceutical and medical device research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

Education

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Access 14,000+ documents and over 20,000+ journal articles per year. Coverage from 1966-present.

Transportation

Repository and Open Science Access Portal (rosap)
An all-digital library program, National Transportation Library (NTL)’s collections in Repository and Open Science Access Portal are full-text electronic publications, datasets, and other resources. National Transportation Information Library.

Health Promotion

BiblioMap, the EPPI-Centre database of health promotion research
The Compass
A curated collection of social and behavior change (SBC) resources
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
Database of focused coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide
Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions (TRoPHI)
Use Boolean Operators to find focused coverage of trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide

Population

PopLine (Site Retired) This link opens in a new window
POPLINE was a valuable resource to the population, family planning, and reproductive health community for over 40 years (1973-2019). Site now home to links for alternative access to journal articles that collectively meet the majority of POPLINE user requests.

Environmental Health

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s Environment Complete database offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. The resource includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, indexing for more than 2,000 domestic and international journals dating back more than 100 years and more than 180 full-text monographs. Offering full text and indexing for these journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, 1981 – present.

Economics

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts economic periodical literature. Citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969 covering topics including accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.

Latin America

LILACS (Latin American Caribbean Health Sciences Literature

More Databases for Public Health

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Use for animal model selection and food, nutrition and agriculture related literature.

The Compass
A curated collection of social and behavior change (SBC) resources

Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) This link opens in a new window Part of the ProQuest Biological Science Collection, this collection focuses on the reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection, and immunity in man, other animals and plants. For researchers working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens and professionals in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology and related fields.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) This link opens in a new window Bacteriology & microbiology, bacterial immunology, vaccinations, antibiotics, immunology
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment. Coverage: 1946 - current
EconLit This link opens in a new window The American Economic Association's electronic database of references to economic literature. EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Gideon This link opens in a new window Interactive infectious disease tool. Includes diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy and microbiology. Especially useful for tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
Global Health This link opens in a new window Covers health topics in developing and developed countries world-wide including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, medical entomology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. 1910 - present.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Articles on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, 1981 – present.

Reports of the Surgeon General, U.S. Public Health Service
more...less...
The Surgeon General of the Public Health Service has focused the Nation's attention on important public health issues. Reports of the Surgeon General on the adverse health consequences of smoking triggered nationwide efforts to prevent tobacco use. Reports on nutrition, violence, and HIV/AIDS—to name but a few—have heightened America's awareness of important public health issues and generated major public health initiatives.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window Covers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.

National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)

HealthStar This link opens in a new window Citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research (the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery). 1966- present

LILACS (Latin American Caribbean Health Sciences Literature

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Proquest's Education and Criminology collections, and more. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
- This link opens in a new window
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window Industrial, technological, and environmental risk. 1990 – current.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.
Virology & AIDS Abstracts This link opens in a new window Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window Water conservation, control, pollution, treatment use and management of water resources. 1967 – current.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window A leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology and biodiversity research literature.

Sociology and Social Welfare Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost. Coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly produced by Sage Publications, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window ProQuest. Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Proquest's Education and Criminology collections, and more. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window ProQuest. Contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for journal articles and dissertations in all branches of the field of Sociology.