Library Guides: Music: Latin America and the Caribbean: Find Articles

About

This section is designed to help you navigate the many databases available for locating scholarly articles. No two databases will have the same journal contents and search terms and algorithms, so it's important to test and compare more than one.

Pro tip: Can't find full-text access to the article you're looking for? Try these two steps:

Search the article or journal title in Library Search to see if TU Libraries provides full text access. If we do not, then:
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive a PDF scan within a few days.

Best Bets: Interdisciplinary

Library Search: Articles
Select the RESOURCE TYPE "Articles" to limit your search.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. When off campus, sign-in with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Link and check for holdings accessible via Tulane. See this tutorial for help: How to Link Google Scholar to Your Library Account
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. *Use TU Link for access via our databases.*
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) This link opens in a new window
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.
Dialnet This link opens in a new window
One of the largest portals to academic content in Spanish. Includes journals from Spain & Latin America.

Music & Ethnography Databases

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing & abstracts for an unrivaled range of music journals from 1874 to the present, covering scholarly & popular. Subject coverage includes music education, performance studies, composition, theory and ethnomusicology to jazz, hip-hop and all forms of popular music.

Music Index
A searchable index of articles published in over 840 international music journals. Many but not all entries are available in full text.
Repertoire International de litterature musicale (RILM)
Indexes thousands of articles, books, and dissertations covering all areas of music including: historical musicology; ethnomusicology; instruments and voice; librarianship; performance practice and notation; theory and analysis; pedagogy; liturgy; dance; criticism and music therapy.
RIPM – Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
An international, highly annotated bibliography with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950.

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life in a cross-cultural database.

The Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library
An online archive of rare video documenting social performance in the Americas.

These Latin American databases will help you discover scholarship produced In Latin America and the Caribbean. You'll find results in a wider variety of languages and from more diverse geographic perspectives.

LA Referencia
Latin American network of open access article repositories.

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) This link opens in a new window
Model Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.

Redalyc
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal
Scientific Information System
Biblioteca Virtual de CLACSO
La Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales CLACSO, repositorio digital, ofrece acceso libre a más de 100.000 textos de la red CLACSO y recibe más de un millón de solicitudes por mes en CLACSO y en la colección CLACSO en Redalyc.
BibLat (Bibliografía latinoamericana)
Biblat allows you to search journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean by mining two key databases: CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades) and PERIODICA (Índice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias).

Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.

The below indices allow you to search and locate the titles of journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean & Iberia. Once you identify a title you're interested in, you can search for it in our library catalog.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Detailed, comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world.
Latindex
Sistema Regional de Información en Línea para Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal
CARINDEX
CARINDEX is an index to the contents of West Indian journals published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, conference papers and collections of working papers.
CONUCO: Índice de Puerto Rico
An index solely dedicated to journals and e-publications created in Puerto Rico or by Puerto Ricans outside the island. Includes academic, popular, and journalistic periodicals.
LANIC: Academic Journals
Directory of online journals relating to Latin America and the Caribbean. *No longer updated as of 2015.
LANIC: Magazines
A directory of online magazines from and about Latin America and the Caribbean. *No longer updated as of 2015.
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
Provides access to the tables of contents of 975 journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, most published between 1994 and 2009. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication.

Journals

Some key journals in Latin American & Caribbean music studies are: