Library Guides: Middle East Politics Library Guide: Journal Articles

Intro

This section contains recommendations for finding journal articles in:

general academic databases
specialized academic databases
scholarly journals

No two resources have the same contents and algorithms. Test and compare more than one to do a thorough information search!

Best Bets

Some of the most useful general academic databases for finding journal articles in Political Science are:

Library Search
Library Search is a discovery tool that pulls many Tulane library resources into one single search. Use filters to limit your search to Articles and/or Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles to access academic journal content.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Proquest's Education and Criminology collections, and more. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.

Specialized Databases

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the region, including North Africa. Coverage includes humanities and the social sciences.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books, articles and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
Offers unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Updated monthly.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Proquest's Education and Criminology collections, and more. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.

Middle East Studies Journals

These specialized Middle East/ MENA Studies journals include academic research from a wide range of subjects—history, anthropology, comparative literature, political science, etc. They more likely to contain in-depth discussions of a particular political event or organization in the MENA region.

International Journal of Middle East Studies
Review of Middle East Studies
Digest of Middle East Studies
Middle East Journal
Middle East Law & Governance
Mediterranean Politics
British Journal of Middle East Studies
Journal of Middle East Women’s Studies
Journal of North African Studies
Middle East Policy (less of a peer-reviewed academic journal, more of a policy forum, of late)
MERIP, Middle East Reporting & Information Project (not peer-reviewed but often previews academic research)

Political Science Journals

The below are important, well-reputed political science journals that may include important studies of politics in MENA-region countries. The focus of these articles tends to be to say something about “political science” writ large rather than politics in a particular country.

General Political Science:

Comparative Politics:

Middle East Politics Library Guide

Scholarly Engagement Librarian

Intro

Best Bets

Specialized Databases

Middle East Studies Journals

Political Science Journals

Getting Full Text