Library Guides: Learning Portal for Health Sciences Students: A Guide: Learning Portal

NEJM Resident 360

resident360.nejm.org
Exploring Learning Lab, Resident Lounge, Career, and Discussions is FREE. Access to Rotation Prep is FREE to you through your institution's subscription, or you may connect with an individual subscription to NEJM, NEJM Journal Watch, or NEJM Knowledge+. Choose your current rotation below to get started.
more...less...
Create an Account with your Tulane Email. Open the confirmation in your email acoount.

Exam Prep - Study databases

Exam Master Online This link opens in a new window
Registration required for each individual user. Exam Master for the USMLE enables students to quickly access a large databank of medical questions in a fast and efficient format.

First Aid Forward (Step 1) - by McGraw Hill! (START DATE OF DECEMBER 31, 2024)

https://firstaid.mheducation.com/

Registration Instructions:

Click on the registration link for the product included in your subscription:

Follow the prompts to create or sign into your account; you must use your institutional email address
You will be sent a magic link via email; click on the magic link to sign into First Aid Forward for the first time.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Clinical "point of care" medicine and medical education resources. Includes medical titles with updated content, images, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and infographics with some mobile device features.

AccessMedicine, Case files collection.
Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill. A collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books.
Self Assessments from AccessMedicine
Q& A Content from vartious texts. Choose from Clinical Library (Harrison's, William's Obstetrics) or Lange Educational Library (basic sciences). Create a personal profile for access. Sample tests from USMLEasy also available.
AccessMedicine Textbooks (Readings tab)
Lange and McGraw-Hill textbooks (basic and clinical)

The Infographic Guide to Medicine by Neeral Shah
ISBN: 9781260453973
Publication Date: 2022-01-19
AccessMedicine (Infographics) - diagnoses alligned with USMLE Steps 1 and 2 (one page snapshots-visuals)

Bates Guide to Physical Examination

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content, 15 OSCE clinical skills videos, and easy navigation.

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2021
link to ebook via Library Catalog

LWW Health Library

LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window
This e-book collection includes titles on anatomy, embryology, physiology, neuroscience, biochemistry, immunology, neuroscience, and histology. In addition to texts, users can access video clips, self-assessments, clinical skills exercises, and cases for use in problem-based learning.

Clinical Key

Free CME credit for searches conducted in CK also available.

Some books now include video content. If a video is available it will appear in the book's table of contents menu.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Full text books & journals from Elsevier publishing, Procedures Consult (medical procedure videos), First Consult (evidence-based clinical decision-making), MEDLINE search. Create username and password to download full text & install apps.

Recommended learning websites

Cleveland Clinic. Disease Management Project
Excellent overview of common diseases seen in each specialty/organ sytem. Most have excellent graphics. Great for T2s learning pathophysiology; quick resource for T3s on the wards. Recommended by Dr. LeDoux
EthnoMed
EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
JoVe - Science Education - Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology Tulane License (Matas) - General Laboratory Techniques and Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology. A video database dedicated for teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.
JoVe - Science Education - General Laboratory Techniques Tulane License (Matas) - General Laboratory Techniques and Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology. A video database dedicated for teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.
LearningRadiology.com
lectures, handouts, images, Cases of the Week, quizzes, flashcards of differential diagnoses and more
more...less...
Educational website aimed at medical students and radiology residents-in-training, containing lectures, handouts, images, Cases of the Week, archives of cases, quizzes, flashcards of differential diagnoses and “most commons” lists, primarily in the areas of chest, GI, GU cardiac, bone and neuroradiology.
All material on the site, except for the Faculty lectures by other members of the staff at Einstein, was produced by Dr. Herring. Started in June of 2002, the site was originally intended to replace the handout notes that accompanied lectures for the residents and medical students at Albert Einstein Medical Center. It now contains over 20,000 pages of content.
NEJM Image Challenge
Image quizzes from New England Journal of Medicine.
New England Journal of Medicine - Browse Figures & Multimedia
Interactive Cases, Clinical Images and videos. Good for Step 1and 2, as well as instructional videos on nearly every common clinical procedures. Recommended by Dr. LeDoux
PracticeUpdate: News and CME
Channels: Oncology - Cardiology - Urology - Dermatology - Eye Care - Primary Care. Individual access to PracticeUpdate is free. Registration is required. Commercially supported by online advertising, sponsorship, and educational grants by Elsevier.
WebPath: The Internet Pathology Laboratory
2000+ images with text illustrating gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. Over 2000 examination items and 20+ tutorials in specific subject areas. Recommended by Office of Medical Education

Study Guides & Flashcards

Study Guides located in the Matas Commons -1 week checkout (renewals may be available)

Browse the study guides by the Circulation Desk in the library. Materials include Case Files, USMLE, and board preparation.

Suggestions for purchase for the study collection are accepted and these books are purchased if readily available as funds exist.

ONLINE: AccessMedicine FlashCards
AccessMedicine offers online flashcards with interactive content.
more...less...
Flashcard content comes from the following resources: Pathophysiology of Disease Flashcards & The Big Picture: Medical Physiology Flashcards