Library Guides: Jesuits and the Globe: Get Started with Reference

The Latin American Library Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

lal@tulane.edu

Jesuit Historiography Online
Over seventy summaries of key texts from the earlier literature, painstaking surveys of more recent work, and digests of archival and online resources. Global scope covering both Anglophone and non-Anglophone sources and scholarship from Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas.
Jesuit Online Bibliography
Searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century. If you find a book you're interested, see if we have it in the Library Search. If Tulane doesn't have the book, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan

The Oxford Handbook of the Jesuits by Ines G. Zupanov (Editor)
ISBN: 0190639636
Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of the Jesuits explores Jesuit contributions to education, the arts, politics, and theology, among others. The volume is organized in seven major sections, totaling forty articles, on the Order's foundation and administration, the theological underpinnings of its activities, the Jesuit involvement with secular culture, missiology, the Order's contributions to the arts and sciences, the suppression of Order in the 18th century, and finally, the restoration.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
An expert-curated guide to the most important and significant sources in several topics with editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. Tulane subscribes to: Atlantic History, American Literature, Architecture Planning & Preservation, Art History, Atlantic History, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance & Reformation and Urban Studies
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Limited to 8 concurrent users.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Latin American History (ORE Latin American History) provides students and scholars with peer-reviewed, historiographically-informed articles in all areas of Latin American history. As a digitally native resource, ORE Latin America History also incorporates multimedia, including images, links, and audiovisual clips, that allow readers to explore in greater depth the richly diverse history and cultures of Latin America.