The following databases contain digitized archival documents, ephemera, diaries, letters, newspapers, books, and more that document histories of gender, sexuality, and women.
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas. The collection includes modules on International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 Parts I & II, and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, and more.
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
Digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) documenting the history of women in the United States. The diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to photos of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
Contains images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
This resource documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. The collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
The definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history (1543-1945). Trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements.
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinxs, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Contains the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as images of the original manuscripts. The collection is drawn entirely from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Contains over 1,500 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Digital facsimiles of original manuscripts by early modern women from diaries to works of drama. An indispensable resource for anyone interested in women and women's writing in Early Modern Britain.
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University.
As outspoken lesbian organizers for civil rights, civil liberties, and human dignity whose personal relationship fueled decades of political activism, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin created and helped shape the modern gay and feminist movements.
The Religious Periodicals for Women, Children and Families 1804-1878 consists of over 180 U.S. publications focusing on important topics faced by families in the nineteenth Century and broader social themes like anti-slavery, universalism, and temperance. Sourced from the American Antiquarian Society.
The Adam Matthew Sex & Sexuality collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. The resource explores the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness.
From the everyday to the extraordinary, these rare diaries and the supporting correspondence describe the travel experiences, destinations and desires of nineteenth and twentieth century American women.
The project has wide ranging interdisciplinary appeal, offering first hand accounts of major historical events as reported by eye witnesses, detailing key interests and themes in women’s lives, providing snapshots of cities, cultures and customs, and charting the rise of modern tourism and the travel industry. Topics covered include: Emigration and daily life, Missionary Work, World War I, World War II, Boxer War in China, Frontier Life in America, Personal Enlightenment through travel, Education and Finishing School, Sightseeing, Holidays and Tourism, Customs, culture and leisure.
ProQuest's Women's Magazine Archive is an archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Tulane has access to Collections 1 and 2: Better Homes & Gardens (1922-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005); Essence (1970 to 2005); Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005); Ladies’ Home Journal (1883-2005); Parents (1926-2005); Redbook (1903-2005); Seventeen (1944 to 2005); Town and Country (1846 to 2005); Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005); Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003).
The Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844 collection presents 210 U.S. women’s-related periodicals spanning the Colonial through the Jacksonian Eras. Sourced from the American Antiquarian Society.
Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 represents 250 U.S. periodicals published between 1845 and 1865 focusing on female authors and publishers who cemented the foundations of women’s active role in American social and religious movements.
The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891 collection contains over 230 periodicals published between 1866 and 1891 that range widely in subject matter from religious and cultural periodicals from the South to domestic and parenting magazines from the North.
Sourced from the archives of the Imperial War Museum, London. Includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, and press cuttings, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars. Covers 1914-1918.
The history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible.
The collection currently includes 91 document projects and archives with more than 3,600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors.
The Women in the National Archives collection consists of two distinct elements: A finding aid to women's studies resources in the U.K. National Archives and original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories. The original documents cover the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.
Sourced from the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library. This collection documents Patricia Lindh’s and Jeanne Holm’s liaison with women’s groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. Includes material accumulated by presidential Counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women’s Programs Director Karen Keesling.
Topics include liaison activities with over 300 women’s organizations, agency women’s groups and program units, advisory committees on women and women appointees; public policy; and legislation and regulation of women’s civil rights in the government and the economy.
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image collections from Harvard University Libraries. Explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Documents working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, etc.
