Library Guides: Fashion and Textiles: Images

Key Resources

Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Provides fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion Online. NOTE: There is a limit of 3 concurrent users.

Victoria and Albert Museum
Prominent art and design museum with thousands of high-quality images of historic textiles, embroidery, and garments. See their collections on fashion, embroidery, and historic undergarments.
The Costume Institute (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
The Kyoto Costume Institute
This collection has a focus on the influence of Japonism on Western fashion, includes a large digital archive of high-quality images.

AP Newsroom
AP captures events from history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text. Content is accessible through a variety of searches – from keyword and category to color and concept searching.

Quilt and Quilt Making in America, 1978-1996 (Library of Congress)
Contains 181 segments from recorded interviews with quiltmakers and 410 graphic images from two collections in the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress: the Blue Ridge Parkway Folklife Project Collection and the Lands' End All-American Quilt Contest Collection.

Artstor
High-quality image collections curated by museums, universities, and archives around the world. Covers a wide array of subjects and media, including paintings, architectural drawings and details, photographs, crafts, sculpture, etc. from all regions and time periods. Now searchable directly on JSTOR.