Library Guides: EVST 3310: Approaches in Environmental Studies (Katin): 4. Find Academic Articles

Intro: Why so many databases?

No two databases have the same contents, keyword indexes, and algorithms. Below you'll find a variety of general academic and specialized databases to find journal articles in the field of Environmental Studies. Test and compare more than one to do a thorough information search!

Journals

You may want to check out this journal for examples of sustainability projects being done at universities around the world:

International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education
The aim of International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education is to provide up-to-date information on new developments and trends on sustainability in a higher education context, and to catalyse networking and information exchange on sustainable development as a whole, and on the SDGs in particular, on a global basis.

General Academic Databases

Some of the most useful general academic databases for finding journal articles are:

Library Search - Articles
Library Search is a discovery tool that pulls many Tulane library resources into one single search. Limit your search to Articles or Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles to access academic journal content.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."

Environmental Studies Databases

These databases have contents limited to environment-focused publications and publications in the social sciences:

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Proquest's Education and Criminology collections, and more. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s Environment Complete database offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. The resource includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, indexing for more than 2,000 domestic and international journals dating back more than 100 years and more than 180 full-text monographs. Offering full text and indexing for these journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.

EVST 3310: Approaches in Environmental Studies (Katin)

Scholarly Engagement Librarian

Intro: Why so many databases?

Journals

General Academic Databases

Environmental Studies Databases

Getting Full Text