Library Guides: ENGL1010 (Matthew Sumpter): In Class: Find Articles

Intro

No two databases have the same contents, search terms, and algorithms. Below are some best bets for general, interdisciplinary academic databases. Test and compare more than one to do a thorough information search!

Best Bets

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.

Specialized Databases

To discover specialized databases in the discipline you're research corresponds to, see Tulane Libraries' Library Guides.

What If I Can't Get Full Text Access to an Article?

If you find an article you want to access, but hit a paywall or other roadblock, register to use Tulane Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service: ILLiad.

Once you're registered, submit an article request:

You'll receive a PDF of the article by email within 3 business days!