ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
This collection offers a wide selection of academic e-books from top publishers and presses. Search and view the full text of eBooks as offered via EBSCO’s collection of titles.
Authoritative, full-text eBooks in a wide range of subject areas: History, The Arts, Social Sciences, Literature & Language, Health & Medicine, Business, and Science & Technology. NOTE: Tulane users must create a personal Ebook Central account from on campus in order to sign in on-site or remotely. Sign-in is required in order to download content.
Every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Tulane's subscription includes Parts I and II.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring thousands of poems by some of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama 1714–1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented. Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
Contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems by 177 poets including Bliss Carman, Isabella Valancy Crawford, Archibald Lampman, Charles G. D. Roberts and Duncan Campbell Scott, offering a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
Offers full-text first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
Contains about 100,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. Early English Prose Fiction offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn, and has been produced in association with the Salzburg Centre for Research on the Early English Novel (SCREEN).
A digitized collection of major French historical publications: bibliographies, dictionaries, grammar books, encyclopedias, works of French and Francophone literature. Includes L'Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des connoissances humaines (Encyclopédie d'Yverdon), among other titles.
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with enhanced functionality and the addition of more than 20,000 poems. The most comprehensive archive of English verse available now offers incomparable representation both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
A collection of British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.
Comprehensive resoure covering all aspects of Canadian and American Theatre. It includes 40,000 pages of reference materials, and records to over 30,000 plays, over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
This collection includes poems by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
When complete, Twentieth-Century Drama will contain 2,500 plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present. Release Five includes 1,200 plays by authors such as Amiri Baraka, Noël Coward, Susan Glaspell, John Godber, Beth Henley, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Eduardo Machado, Ngugi wa Thiong’o, John Osborne, Sean O’Casey, Terence Rattigan, Bernard Shaw, Megan Terry, Derek Walcott, Wendy Wasserstein and August Wilson.
Featuring plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists, the collection includes works by over 300 writers including Amiri Baraka, Noël Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, Brian Friel, David Mamet, Eugene O’Neill, John Osborne, Sean O’Casey, Harold Pinter, Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson and Elizabeth Wong.
A collection of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
Covers blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression in essays and images.
This database contains 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 15,000 scores.
Formerly known as Classical Scores Library, this database contains 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 15,000 scores. Tulane University has access to Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volumes I, II, III, and IV.
Includes more than 800 scores (approx. 25,000 pages) of in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.
Includes more than 800 scores (approx. 25,000 pages) of in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. 49 composers' works are included in this release, including notable 20th- century composers.
Provides access to a selection of Brill resources. Tulane has access to: New Pauly Online, Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics, Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Encyclopaedia of Islam, Encyclopaedia Iranica Online, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, Foreign Law Guide, Qurʾānic Studies Online, Jesuit Historiography Online, Storey Online (Persian Literature: A Bio-bibliographical Survey), and Catalog of Catalogs Online, A Bibliography of Temporary Exhibition Catalogs Since 1876 that Contain Items of Judaica.
Gale's Virtual Reference platform supplies access to useful online versions of standard, current reference sources such as dictionaries and subject encyclopedias. Newly purchased for the library are more than 20 of these important reference titles.
Online version of Brill's Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Second Edition. More than 200 entries provide a comprehensive presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. While heavy emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, it also includes entries on circumcision, genetic engineering, homosexuality, intermarriage in American Judaism, and other contemporary issues.
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.
When you need answers fast. Literati is a solid starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject.
Provides access to Grove Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Limited to 8 concurrent users.
Part of Oxford Academic, each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those disciplines and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.
Access to full text of titles published by Oxford Scholarship Online for the following collections and updates: Archaeology (Sept. & Nov. 2012); Business & Management (Sept. 2009, May 2010); Classics (current through 2016); History (current through 2016); Economics & Finance (current through 2016); Linguistics (current through 2016); Music (current thru 2021); Philosophy (current through 2016); Political Science (Sept. 2009, Jan. & May 2010, Jan. 2011, May 2011); Religion (Sept. 2009, Jan. 2010, Jan. & May 2011)
Explore a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, background information, and translations found in dictionaries and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online is now part of Oxford Academic with access to full text of select titles published via Oxford University Publishing and affiliated publishers.
