Access
Access is assumed to mean continued, ongoing usability of a digital resource, retaining all qualities of authenticity, accuracy and functionality deemed to be essential for the purposes the digital material was created and/or acquired for.
Access Policies
Guidelines for granting access to preserved content.
AIP Archival Information Package
An Information Package, consisting of the Content Information and the associated Preservation Description Information (PDI), which is preserved within an OAIS (OAIS term). The AIP often consists of the original files deposited, processed versions of data files and documentation, normalized files, and associated metadata. [1]
Archival Value
The ongoing usefulness or significance of records, based on the administrative, legal, fiscal, evidential, or historical information they contain, that justifies their continued preservation. [1]
Archive [noun]
1. An organization that intends to preserve information for access and use by a Designated Community. 2. A data archive is a site where machine-readable materials are stored, preserved, and possibly redistributed to individuals interested in using the materials. [1]
Archive [verb]
To place or store in an Archive [noun]. [1]
Audit Trail
Data that allows the reconstruction of a previous activity, or which enables attributes of a change (such as date, time or operator) to be stored so that a sequence of events can be documented in the correct chronological order. It is usually in the form of a database or one or more lists of activity data. [1]
Authenticity
A mechanical characteristic of any digital object that reflects the degree of trustworthiness in the object, in that the supportive metadata accompanying the object makes it clear that the possessed object is what it purports to be. [1]
AVI (.avi)
Audio Video Interleave is a container format for video. There are both compressed and uncompressed codecs that can be used. The file extension is .avi. [1]
Bit
A bit is the basic unit of information in computing. It can have only one of two values commonly represented as either a 0 or 1. The two values can be interpreted as any two-valued attribute (yes/no, on/off, etc).
Bit-level Preservation
A term used to denote a very basic level of preservation of a digital resource as it was submitted (literally preservation of the bits forming a digital resource). It may include maintaining onsite and offsite backup copies, virus checking, fixity-checking, and periodic refreshment to new storage media. Bit preservation is not digital preservation, but it does provide one building block for the more complete set of digital preservation practices and processes that ensure the survival of digital content and also its usability, display, context and interpretation over time.
Born-Digital
Digital materials which are not intended to have an analogue equivalent, either as the originating source or as a result of conversion to analogue form. This term has been used in the Handbook to differentiate them from 1) digital materials which have been created as a result of converting analogue originals; and 2) digital materials, which may have originated from a digital source but have been printed to paper, e.g. some electronic records.
Broadcast Wave (BWF, BWAV)
A file format intended for the exchange of audio material between different broadcast environments and equipment based on different computer platforms. Based on the Microsoft WAVE audio file format, Broadcast Wave adds a required "Broadcast Audio Extension" (bext) chunk to hold the minimum information considered necessary for broadcast applications. File extensions include .wav, .bwf, and .bwav. [1]
Byte (B)
A unit of digital information that most commonly consists of eight bits. Historically, the byte was the number of bits used to encode a single character of text in a computer and for this reason it is the smallest addressable unit of memory in many computer architectures.
Chain of Custody
A key concept in digital forensics whereby the custody and provenance of digital hardware, media and files are safeguarded through, for example, the appointment of evidence custodians. The purpose of the Digital Evidence Bag (DEB) is to hold digitally, along with the evidential digital objects, provenance metadata that can be updated as required: a concept that is familiar to digital preservation practitioners.
Checksum
An algorithmically-computed numeric value for a file or a set of files used to validate the state and content of the file for the purpose of detecting accidental errors that may have been introduced during its transmission or storage. The integrity of the data can be checked at any later time by re-computing the checksum and comparing it with the stored one. If the checksums match, the data was almost certainly not altered. [1]
Codec
A codec is the means by which sound and video files are compressed for storage and transmission purposes. There are various forms of compression: 'lossy' and 'lossless', but many codecs perform lossless compression because of the much larger data reduction ratios that occur with lossy compression. Most codecs are software, although in some areas codecs are hardware components of image and sound systems. Codecs are necessary for playback, since they uncompress [or decompress] the moving image and sound files and allow them to be Most of the terms in this glossary were originally identified, compiled, and cited by staff at the University of Minnesota Libraries.
Dark Archive
An archive that cannot be accessed by any current users but may be accessible at future dates subject to the occurrence of specific pre-defined events (trigger event). Access to the data is either limited to a few set individuals or completely restricted to all.
Data
A reinterpretable representation of information in a formalized manner suitable for communication, interpretation, or processing. Examples of data include a sequence of bits, a table of numbers, the characters on a page, or the recording of sounds made by a person speaking. [2]
Data Integrity
Ensuring data remains accurate and unaltered over time.
Digital Archive
A repository for the long-term maintenance of digital resources often with the purpose of making them available. [3]
Digital Archiving
This term is used very differently within sectors. The library and archiving communities often use it interchangeably with digital preservation. Computing professionals tend to use digital archiving to mean the process of backup and ongoing maintenance as opposed to strategies for long-term digital preservation.
Digital Content
Any arbitrary item created, published or distributed in a digital form, including, but not limited to, text, data, sound recordings, photographs and images, motion pictures and software. Used interchangeably with Digital Materials. [5]
Derivative
A transformed version of an original source file, often called an access, delivery, viewing or output file, used to facilitate access to, preservation of, or additional use of the content. An Access Copy is one version of a derivative. Other types of derivatives might be created for long-term preservation purposes. [5]
Description
The process of recording information about the nature and content of the records in archival custody. The description identifies such features as provenance, arrangement, format and contents, and presents them in a standardized form. [3]
Digital Curation
Digital curation is all about maintaining and adding value to a trusted body of digital information for future and current use; specifically, the active management and appraisal of data over the entire life cycle. Digital curation builds upon the underlying concepts of digital preservation whilst emphasizing opportunities for added value and knowledge through annotation and continuing resource management. Preservation is a curation activity, although both are concerned with managing digital resources with no significant (or only controlled) changes over time. [1]
Digital Object
An object composed of a set of bit sequences. [2]
Digital preservation
Refers to the series of managed activities necessary to ensure continued access to digital materials for as long as necessary. Digital preservation is defined very broadly and refers to all of the actions required to maintain access to digital materials beyond the limits of media failure or technological and organizational change. Those materials may be records created during the day-to-day business of an organization; "born-digital" materials created for a specific purpose or the products of digitization projects.
Short-term preservation
Access to digital materials either for a defined period of time while use is predicted but which does not extend beyond the foreseeable future and/or until it becomes inaccessible because of changes in technology.
Medium-term preservation
Continued access to digital materials beyond changes in technology for a defined period of time but not indefinitely.
Long-term preservation
Continued access to digital materials, or at least to the information contained in them, indefinitely. [7]
Digital Rights Management
An umbrella term referring to any of several technical methods used to control or restrict the use of digital content. [3]
Digitization
The process of creating digital files by scanning or otherwise converting analogue materials. The resulting digital copy, or digital surrogate, would then be classed as digital material and then subject to the same broad challenges involved in preserving access to it, as "born digital" materials.
Dissemination Format
A format used to present a digital resource to a user who has requested it. This may or may not be the same format as the original. See also Access Format, Preservation Format. [4]
DIP Dissemination Information Package
An Information Package, derived from one or more Archival Information Packages (AIPs), and sent by Archives to the Consumer in response to a request to the OAIS (OAIS term).
DLF Digital Library Federation
A US based organization active in digital preservation. http://www.diglib.org
Documentation
The information provided by a creator and the repository which provides enough information to establish provenance, history and context and to enable its use by others. See also Metadata.
DOI Digital Object Identifier
A technical and organizational infrastructure for the registration and use of persistent identifiers widely used in digital publications and for research data. The DOI system was created by the International DOI Foundation and was adopted as International Standard ISO 26324 in 2012.
https://www.doi.org/
DRAMBORA
Digital Repository Audit Methodology Based on Risk Assessment. A set of risk assessment tools developed by the Digital Curation Centre.
https://www.dcc.ac.uk/tools/drambora
DROID
A file profiling tool developed and distributed by TNA to identify file formats. Based on PRONOM.
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/information-management/manage-information/policy-process/digital-continuity/file-profiling-tool-droid/ [7]
Dublin Core (DC)
A simple set of metadata elements used as a common meeting ground between richer, more granular metadata standards from diverse groups. Allows for generalizability and the support of cross-collection discovery. See the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (DCMI) web site for more information. [7]
Electronic Records
Records created digitally in the day-to-day business of the organization and assigned formal status by the organization. For example, they may include word processing documents, emails, databases, or intranet web pages. [7]
EAD: Encoded Archival Description
A Document Type Definition that assists in the creation of electronic finding aids. Developed at UC Berkeley, it is now maintained as a standard by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Society of American Archivists. An EAD can be used to represent complete archival structures, including hierarchies and associations. See the Library of Congress EAD glossary for more terms. [8]
Emulation
A means of overcoming technological obsolescence of hardware and software by developing techniques for imitating obsolete systems on future generations of computers. [7]
File Format
A file format is a standard way that information is encoded for storage in a computer file. It tells the computer how to display, print, and process, and save the information. It is dictated by the application program which created the file, and the operating system under which it was created and stored. Some file formats are designed for very particular types of data, others can act as a container for different types. A particular file format is often indicated by a file name extension containing three or four letters that identify the format.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_format [7]
Finding Aid
Contextual and structural information that describes an archival resource at the collection (typically), series, or item level.
Fixity Check
A method for ensuring the integrity of a file and verifying it has not been altered or corrupted. During transfer, an archive may run a fixity check to ensure a transmitted file has not been altered en route. Within the archive, fixity checking is used to ensure that digital files have not been altered or corrupted. It is most often accomplished by computing checksums such as MD5, SHA1 or SHA256 for a file and comparing them to a stored value.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_fixity [7]
Format Migration
See Migration.
GIF
Graphic Interchange Format, an image which typically uses lossy compression. [7]
Gigabyte (GB)
A unit of digital information often used to describe data or data storage size, equates to approximately 1,000 Megabytes (MB). [7]
GIS Geographical Information System
Integrated computer hardware and software that store, manage, analyze, edit, output, and visualize geographic data. [9]
Identifier
An identifier is a language-independent label, sign or token that identifies an object from another object. See Unique Identifier, Persistent Identifier. [3]
Ingest
The process of turning a Submission Information Package (SIP) into an Archival Information Package (AIP), i.e. putting data into a digital archive (OAIS term). [7]
Integrity Information
Information about digital content that can be used to verify overtime that the content is whole and unaltered through loss, tampering, or corruption. See Fixity check or checksum.
JHove2
A characterization tool for digital objects. Characterization is comprised of four elements: identifying the object's format; validating that the object conforms to its format's technical norms;, extracting technical metadata from the object; and assessing whether the object should be accepted into a repository, based on policies set by the curator. https://coptr.digipres.org/index.php/JHOVE2 [7]
JPEG
Joint Photographic Experts Group: A committee that oversees international standards for compression and processing of digital photographs. The majority of JPEG formats are lossy. http://www.jpeg.org/ [7]
JPEG 2000
A revision of the JPEG format which can use lossless compression. [7]
Kilobyte (KB)
A unit of digital information often used to describe data or data storage size, equates to approximately 1,000 Bytes. [7]
Life-cycle management
Records management practices have established life-cycle management for many years, for both paper and electronic records. The major implications for life-cycle management of digital resources, whatever their form or function, is the need actively to manage the resource at each stage of its life-cycle and to recognize the inter-dependencies between each stage and commence preservation activities as early as practicable. This represents a major difference with most traditional preservation, where management is largely passive until detailed conservation work is required, typically, many years after creation and rarely, if ever, involving the creator. There is an active and inter-linked life-cycle to digital resources which has prompted many to promote the term "continuum" to distinguish it from the more traditional and linear flow of the life-cycle for traditional analogue materials. We have used the term life-cycle to apply to this pro-active concept of preservation management for digital materials. [7]
Lossless Compression
A mechanism for reducing file sizes that retains all original data. [7]
Lossy Compression
A mechanism for reducing file sizes that typically discards data. [7]
Megabyte (MB)
A unit of digital information often used to describe data or data storage size, equates to approximately 1,000 Kilobytes (KB). [7]
Metadata
Information which describes significant aspects of a resource. Most discussion to date has tended to emphasize metadata for the purposes of resource discovery. The emphasis in this Handbook is on what metadata are required successfully to manage and preserve digital materials over time and which will assist in ensuring essential contextual, historical, and technical information are preserved along with the digital object. The PREMIS Data Dictionary for Preservation Metadata has become a key de facto standard in digital preservation. [7]
Metadata: Administrative
Information needed to help manage the digital object. Often included in administrative metadata is rights management, technical, and preservation information. [6]
Metadata: Descriptive
Metadata that identifies a resource and describes its intellectual content for purposes such as discovery, identification, and use. [5]
Metadata: Event
Metadata which provides an audit trail of actions by an agent on an object. Sometimes considered a specific type of Preservation Metadata. [3]
Metadata: Preservation
The contextual information necessary to carry out, document, and evaluate the processes that support the long-term retention and accessibility of digital content. Preservation metadata documents the technical processes associated with preservation (Migration/Refreshing), specifies rights management information, establishes the authenticity of digital content, and records the chain of custody and provenance for a digital object. [5]
Metadata: Rights Management
Administrative metadata that indicates the copyrights, user restrictions, and license agreements that might constrain the end-use of digital content (including metadata files). [5]
Metadata: Structural
Information that provides information on how the digital object is organized or how compound objects are put together or related. This may include the page or chapter order of a book, its table of contents or indexes. Structural metadata is often used by software programs. [6]
Metadata: Technical
Information about aspects of the object often closely related either to its file format or the original software used to create the file. This may include things like the scanning equipment used to create a digital object and the settings used to create/modify it. [6]
Metadata Schema
A metadata schema defines a framework for representing metadata. In general it includes definitions of terms used in the schema, structural constraints and data structure definitions, and bindings to physical description syntax. For more information please see "A Metadata Schema Registry as a Tool to Enhance Metadata Interoperability". [6]
METS (Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard)
A standard for presenting metadata using XML. http://www.loc.gov/standards/mets/ [7]
Migration
A means of overcoming technological obsolescence by transferring digital resources from one hardware/software generation to the next. The purpose of migration is to preserve the intellectual content of digital objects and to retain the ability for clients to retrieve, display, and otherwise use them in the face of constantly changing technology. Migration differs from the refreshing of storage media in that it is not always possible to make an exact digital copy or replicate original features and appearance and still maintain the compatibility of the resource with the new generation of technology. [7]
MODS (Metadata Object Description Schema)
An XML schema, and a data structure and interchange standard, used for the creation of original resource description records (and may also be used as an alternative method for representing MARC data). MODS was developed by the Library of Congress’ Network Development and MARC Standards Office. See the MODS web site for more information. [8]
MPEG
MPEG stands for the Moving Picture Experts Group, which is a working group of the ISO/IEC with the mission to develop standards for coded representation of digital audio and video (http://mpeg.chiariglione.org/). Standards created often are named MPEG-(x) and file extensions are based on the standard. Some common extensions are .mp3, .mp4, and .m4a. [10]
MOV (.mov)
Associated with QuickTime (Apple) environment, this is a multimedia container file for video. File extension is .mov. See QuickTime. [10]
Native Format
The format in which the record was created or in which the originating application stores records. [6]
Network
A number of computers connected together to share information and hardware. A Local Area Network (LAN) is small, usually confined to a single building or group of buildings. A Wide Area Network (WAN) is a large system of LAN’s with many computers linked together. [6]
Network File System (NFS)
A Network File System is a process for mounting magnetic disks on a network so that disks not physically attached to a computer can be accessed as if they were physically attached. [10]
Normalization
The process of converting a digital object into a persistent file format. [11]
OAI-PMH
The Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH) is a lightweight harvesting protocol for sharing metadata between services. In the OAI context, harvesting refers specifically to the gathering together of metadata from a number of distributed repositories into a combined data store. See Open Archives Initiative. [3]
Open Archival Information System (OAIS)
The Open Archive Information System (OAIS) Reference Model is an ISO standard that formally expresses the roles (producer, management, consumer, and implicitly archives), functions (common services, ingest, archival storage, data management, administration, preservation planning, and access), and content (submission information package, archival information collection, archival information package, and dissemination information package) of an archive. It was approved as an ISO standard in 2003 and updated in 2012: ISO 14721:2012. More information can be found here. [1]
Open Format
In a computer environment, an open format is a data format that is not considered proprietary and is free of commercial ownership or patents. Typically the technical specifications for the format are also publicly available, allowing users to alter and develop the format to suit their specific needs. [6]
Open Source
Open source refers to software in which the source code is available to the general public for use and/or modification from its original design. Open source code is typically created as a collaborative effort in which programmers improve upon the code and share the changes within the community. [6]
Persistent Identifier
A persistent identifier is a language-independent label, sign or token that identifies an object from another object that cannot be changed over time. See Identifier and Unique Identifier. [3]
Portal Document Format - Archival (PDF/A)
An ISO-standardized version of the Portable Document Format (PDF) specialized for the digital preservation of electronic documents. There are three such standards. PDF/A-1 is based on the PDF Reference Version 1.4 from Adobe Systems Inc. (implemented in Adobe Acrobat 5 and later versions) and is defined by ISO 19005-1:2005. PDF/A-2 is based on ISO 32000-1 – PDF 1.7 and is defined by ISO 19005-2:2011, published on June 20, 2011 under the formal name Document management – Electronic document file format for long-term preservation – Part 2: Use of ISO 32000-1 (PDF/A-2). PDF/A-3 is based on ISO 32000-1 – PDF 1.7 and is defined by ISO 19005-3:2012, published on October 15, 2012 under the formal name Document management — Electronic document file format for long-term preservation — Part 3: Use of ISO 32000-1 with support for embedded files (PDF/A-3). [6]
Petabyte (PB)
A unit of digital information often used to describe data or data storage size, equates to approximately 1,000 Terabytes (TB).
Preservation
The processes and operations in ensuring the technical and intellectual survival of digital objects through time. [3]
Preservation Copy
A copy made and used to preserve the intellectual content of a digital resource. [4]
Preservation Description Information (PDI)
The information which is necessary for adequate preservation of the Content Information and which can be categorized as Provenance, Reference, Fixity, Context, and Access Rights Information. [2]
Preservation Format
A format chosen for preservation purposes based on standards and best practices. One resource for choosing a preservation format is the Sustainability Factors section of the Library of Congress Sustainability of Digital Formats page. Other formats may be chosen for different purposes. See also: Access Format, Dissemination Format. [4]
Preservation Strategy
Coherent set of objectives and methods for maintaining digital components and related information over time, and for reproducing the related authentic data resources. See also: Digital Preservation, Migration, and Copy. [4]
PREMIS Preservation Metadata
A de facto standard for digital preservation metadata.
https://www.loc.gov/standards/premis/
PRONOM
A database of file formats, software products and other technical components required to support long-term access to electronic records and other digital objects of cultural, historical or business value. Used with DROID.
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/pronom/ [7]
QuickTime Format (.mov)
A file format that wraps video, audio, and other bit streams associated with Apple computers, but also viewable on the Windows platform. See also MOV.
Reformatting
Copying information content from one storage medium to a different storage medium (media reformatting) or converting from one file format to a different file format (file re-formatting). [7]
Refreshing
Copying information content from one storage media to the same storage media. [7]
Resource Descriptive Framework (RDF)
A family of specifications for a metadata model. The RDF family of specifications is maintained by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). The RDF metadata model is based upon the idea of making statements about resources in the form of a subject-predicate-object expression and is a major component in what is proposed by the W3C's Semantic Web activity: an evolutionary stage of the World Wide Web in which automated software can store, exchange and utilize metadata about the vast resources of the Web, in turn enabling users to deal with those resources with greater efficiency and certainty. RDF's simple data model and ability to model disparate, abstract concepts has also led to its increasing use in knowledge management applications unrelated to Semantic Web activity. See Semantic Web. [3]
Restricted Use
A category of digital content restricted for any number of reasons including copyright restrictions, donor agreements, security clearance, presence of personally identifying information (PII), or simply that the content is intended for internal use only. [5]
Rights Owner
An individual, group, or organization which holds intellectual property rights to specific digital resource(s). See also: Copyright. [4]
Risk Assessment
Evaluating potential threats to digital assets.
Significant properties
Characteristics of digital and intellectual objects that must be preserved over time in order to ensure the continued accessibility, usability and meaning of the objects and their capacity to be accepted as (evidence of) what they purport to be. https://www.archives.gov/files/era/acera/pdf/significant-properties.pdf [7]
SIP (Submission Information Package)
An Information Package that is delivered by the Producer to the OAIS for use in the construction or update of one or more Archival Information Packages (AIPs) and/or the associated Descriptive Information (OAIS term). [7]
SMPTE (Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers)
A professional organization and technical standards body for television and motion picture.
https://www.smpte.org/ [7]
Storage: Archival
The category of digital storage that provides the services and functions for the long-term storage, maintenance and retrieval of digital objects. [5]
Storage: Nearline
A term used in computer science to describe an intermediate type of data storage that represents a compromise between online storage (supporting frequent, very rapid access to data) and offline storage/archiving (used for backups or long-term storage, with infrequent access to data). Nearline is a contraction of near-online. See also Storage: Offline and Storage: Online. [5]
Storage: Offline
Any digital storage medium that must first be attached to a computing device before being made accessible to the computing system. Offline storage may be in the form of tape drives, fixed media (CDs, DVDs, flash drives) or hard drives that are not continuously network accessible. Also called removable storage. See also Storage: Nearline and Storage Online. [4]/[5]
Storage: Offsite
Storage that is located a sufficient distance from the location in which the main data is stored. Often the goal is to separate backup copies, and place them in locations in which they are unlikely to be affected by the same [natural or other] disaster. [4]
Storage: Online
Local or network-accessible storage utilized for data that is immediately accessible to an application without the need to stage it in from a lower tier of storage. See also Storage: Nearline and Storage: Offline. [4]/[5]
Storage Migration
The process of copying content from one generation or configuration of digital data storage onto an updated generation or configuration. [5]
Structured Data
A record created from data that has been collated and managed in a structured environment, often in a database-type business information system. The captured data is highly-structured, predictive and repetitive. [6]
Sustainable file formats
File formats more likely to remain accessible for the long term. See LOC’s Sustainability of Digital Formats.
Tag
Fragments of text used to organize content, usually delimited in a set format. Example of XML tags: <book> <title>This is the Title of The Book</title> <intro>This is the book introduction...</intro> </book> In the example above, book, chapter, title, and intro are tags. They do not convey content, but rather the context of the content. The < and > are used to signify what is a tag and what is content. [10]
TDR Trusted Digital Repository
A trusted digital repository has been defined as having “a mission to provide reliable, long-term access to managed digital resources to its designated community, now and into the future”. The TDR must include the following seven attributes: compliance with the reference model for an Open Archival Information System (OAIS), administrative responsibility, organizational viability, financial sustainability, technological and procedural suitability, system security, and procedural accountability. The concept has been an important one particularly in relation to certification of digital repositories. [7]
Terabyte (TB)
A unit of digital information often used to describe data or data storage size, equates to approximately 1,000 Gigabytes (GB). [7]
Three-Legged Stool
A conceptual approach to digital preservation that suggests a fully implemented and viable preservation program addresses organizational issues, technological concerns, and funding questions, balancing them like a three-legged stool. Developed as part of the Digital Preservation Management Workshop and Tutorial. [7]
TIFF (Tagged Image File Format)
A common format for images typically lossless. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tagged_Image_File_Format [7]
TRAC (Trusted Repository Audit and Certification)
Toolkit for auditing a digital repository.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trustworthy_Repositories_Audit_%26_Certification
Unique Identifier
A unique identifier is a language-independent label, sign or token that uniquely identifies an object from another object. See Identifier. [3]
URI or URL
Uniform Resource Identity or Uniform Resource Location, a unique web address that includes the protocol, server name, path and the document name.
Validation
The process of making sure that data is correct and useful when checked against a set of data validation rules. These might include rules for package or file structure or specific file format profiles. [5]
WAVE (.wav)
The standard file wrapper for audio; see BWF (Broadcast WAV Format) for the professional variant. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WAV [7]
Write blocker
Tools that prevent an examination computer system from writing or altering a collection or subject hard drive or other digital media object. Hardware write blockers are generally regarded as more reliable than software write blockers.
XML (Extensible Markup Language)
A widely used standard (derived from SGML), for representing structured information, including documents, data, configuration, books, and transactions. It is maintained by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).
https://www.w3.org/XML/ [7]
XSL/XSLT
XSLT, the Extensible Stylesheet Language for Transformations, is an official recommendation of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). XSLT is a language used for transforming XML into other formats, most commonly HTML, PDF, or different forms of XML. If XML is all about content, then XSLT is about display. [1]
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Terms that refer to citations [1] through [6] below were originally identified, compiled, and cited by staff at the University of Minnesota Libraries. Citations [7] through [11] were identified, complied, and cited by staff at Tulane University Libraries.
[1] ISPCR's glossary which was originally prepared by James Jacobs, formerly at the University of California, San Diego and called the Glossary of Selected Social Science Computing Terms and Social Science Data Terms
[2] The Reference Model for an Open Archival Information System (OAIS)
[3] Archives New Zealand's Glossary Digital Continuity Definitions [wayback machine link]
[4] AHDS Digital Preservation Glossary [wayback machine link]
[5] The National Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA) Glossary
[6] A glossary compiled by the Education Subcommittee of the State Electronic Records Initiative of the Council of State Archivists. [2013]
[7] https://www.dpconline.org/handbook/glossary
[8] https://cdlib.org/resources/technologists/glossary-of-digital-library-terms/
[9] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geographic_information_system
[10] https://libguides.umn.edu/dp/glossary
[11] https://dictionary.archivists.org/index.html
