Data Literacy

Aimed at empowering students with the information necessary to choose the best approach to fit their needs, the text outlines numerous research options from varying viewpoints, and highlights the procedures involved with putting each method into practice.

The papers in this book cover issues related to the development of novel statistical models for the analysis of data. They offer solutions for relevant problems in statistical data analysis and contain the explicit derivation of the proposed models as well as their implementation.

Collecting data is relatively easy, but turning raw information into something useful requires that you know how to extract precisely what you need. With this insightful book, intermediate to experienced programmers interested in data analysis will learn techniques for working with data in a business environment.

Get complete instructions for manipulating, processing, cleaning, and crunching datasets in Python. Updated for Python 3.6, the second edition of this hands-on guide is packed with practical case studies that show you how to solve a broad set of data analysis problems effectively.

Look at Python from a data science point of view and learn proven techniques for data visualization as used in making critical business decisions. Starting with an introduction to data science with Python, you will take a closer look at the Python environment and get acquainted with editors such as Jupyter Notebook and Spyder.

This book provides an elementary-level introduction to R, targeting both non-statistician scientists in various fields and students of statistics. The main mode of presentation is via code examples with liberal commenting of the code and the output, from the computational as well as the statistical viewpoint.

Roping the reader in with humor and real-world case examples presented as mysteries to be solved, this engaging text has been updated with new cases, the latest version of SPSS, and new coverage of multivariate analysis of variance.

Visualizing the data is an essential part of any data analysis. Modern computing developments have led to big improvements in graphic capabilities and there are many new possibilities for data displays. This book gives an overview of modern data visualization methods, both in theory and practice. It details modern graphical tools such as mosaic plots, parallel coordinate plots, and linked views. Coverage also examines graphical methodology for particular areas of statistics, for example Bayesian analysis, genomic data and cluster analysis, as well software for graphics.

This book is a contribution to the multi-disciplined and multi-faceted conversation concerning the forms, uses and roles of data visualization in society. Do data visualizations do 'good' or 'bad'? Do they promote understanding and engagement, or do they do ideological work, privileging certain views of the world over others? The contributions in the book engage with these core questions from a range of disciplinary perspectives.

Much of the data available today is unstructured and text-heavy, making it challenging for analysts to apply their usual data wrangling and visualization tools. With this practical book, you'll explore text-mining techniques with tidytext, a package that authors Julia Silge and David Robinson developed using the tidy principles behind R packages like ggraph and dplyr.

This book discusses text mining and different ways this type of data mining can be used to find implicit knowledge from text collections. The author provides the guidelines for implementing text mining systems in Java, as well as concepts and approaches.

Machine Learning, a vital and core area of artificial intelligence (AI), is propelling the AI field ever further and making it one of the most compelling areas of computer science research. This textbook offers a comprehensive and unbiased introduction to almost all aspects of machine learning, from the fundamentals to advanced topics.

Although clustering -- the classifying of objects into meaningful sets -- is an important procedure, cluster analysis as a multivariate statistical procedure is poorly understood. This volume is an introduction to cluster analysis for professionals, as well as for advanced undergraduate and graduate students with little or no background in the subject.

The aim of this book is to illustrate that advanced fuzzy clustering algorithms can be used not only for partitioning of the data. It can also be used for visualization, regression, classification and time-series analysis, hence fuzzy cluster analysis is a good approach to solve complex data mining and system identification problems. This book is oriented to undergraduate and postgraduate and is well suited for teaching purposes.

This volume focuses on its recent advances and it is composed of five parts and a total of eighteen chapters. The first part of the book contains five contributions in the area of information retrieval and Web intelligence: a novel approach to solving index selection problem, integrated retrieval from Web of documents and data, bipolarity in database querying, deriving data summarization through ontologies, and granular computing for Web intelligence.

Research Data Management and Data Literacies help researchers familiarize themselves with RDM, and with the services increasingly offered by libraries. This new volume looks at data-intensive science, or 'Science 2.0' as it is sometimes termed in commentary, from a number of perspectives, including the tasks academic libraries need to fulfil, new services that will come online in the near future, data literacy and its relation to other literacies, research support and the need to connect researchers across the academy, and other key issues, such as 'data deluge,' the importance of citations, metadata and data repositories.

Spatial database management deals with the storage, indexing, and querying of data with spatial features, such as location and geometric extent. Many applications require the efficient management of spatial data, including Geographic Information Systems, Computer Aided Design, and Location Based Services.

This book highlights that the capacity for gathering, analysing, and utilising vast amounts of digital (user) data raises significant ethical issues. Annika Richterich provides a systematic contemporary overview of the field of critical data studies that reflects on practices of digital data collection and analysis. The book assesses in detail one big data research area: biomedical studies, focused on epidemiological surveillance.

This book gives a thorough and systematic introduction to Data, Data Sources, Dimensions of Data, Privacy, and Security Challenges associated with Data, Ethics, Laws, IPR Copyright, and Technology Law. This book will help students, scholars, and practitioners to understand the challenges while dealing with data and its ethical and legal aspects.

In Data Feminism, Catherine D'Ignazio and Lauren Klein present a new way of thinking about data science and data ethics--one that is informed by intersectional feminist thought. Illustrating data feminism in action, D'Ignazio and Klein show how challenges to the male/female binary can help challenge other hierarchical (and empirically wrong) classification systems. They explain how, for example, an understanding of emotion can expand our ideas about effective data visualization, and how the concept of invisible labor can expose the significant human efforts required by our automated systems. And they show why the data never, ever "speak for themselves." Data Feminism offers strategies for data scientists seeking to learn how feminism can help them work toward justice, and for feminists who want to focus their efforts on the growing field of data science.