Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bibliography on Carnival in Latin America and the Caribbean

About

The Latin American Library has a growing collection of rare materials documenting Carnival traditions in Latin America and the Caribbean. Holdings range from nineteenth-century Guatemalan broadsides to early twentieth-century photographs of the Caribbean to travel and tourism ephemera from the twenty-first century.

The two collections most rich in carnival materials are the Viki Ospina Photograph Collection, which includes a series of images of the 1985 Carnival in Barranquilla, Colombia, and the Uruguayan Printed Ephemera Collection, which contains pamphlets from the 1930's to 1960's that document murga productions.

Visit The Latin American Library Special Collections for an overview of holdings and discovery tools. For information about recent Carnival acquisitions, email LAL@tulane.edu

Special Collections: Featured Items

Carnival Masqueraders, Puerto Rico, c. 1850-1900. SEAA Mexican Glass Lantern Slides-Collection 66. Image Archive-Box 1, Disk 10. The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Broadside Prohibiting Carnival Activities Outside Designated Locations. Guatemala, 1896. Central American Printed Ephemera (CAPE) Collection, Ephemera-Collection 20/74, Box 6. The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Broadside Issued by José Antonio Mandujano to Regulate Carnival Activities in the Department of Guatemala, 1896. Central American Printed Ephemera (CAPE) Collection, Ephemera-Collection 20/74, Box 6. The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Carnival in Mérida, Mexico, 1913. Marcelo Martínez Palma Collection. Image Archive-Collection 79. The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Huasteca Men in Costume. San Luís de Potosí, Mexico, c. 1920-1930. Rudolf Schuller Collection. Manuscripts-Collection 21, Box 33. The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Photograph by Viki Ospina.

Mujer Conga, Carnival in Barranquilla, Colombia. Viki Ospina Photograph Collection, Image Archive-Collection 81. The Latin American Library at Tulane. 

Photograph by Viki Ospina.

Barranquilla Carnival Parade (Colombia). Viki Ospina Photograph Collection, Image Archive-Collection 81. The Latin American Library at Tulane

"Colombia, el riesgo es que te quieras quedar." Barranquilla Tourism Pamphlet, c. 2010. Latin American Tourist Ephemera-Collection 153. The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

"Trinidad & Tobago: The True Caribbean." Trinidad and Tobago Tourism Pamphlet, c. 2010. Latin American Tourist Ephemera-Collection 153. The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.