Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

EndNote X9 for Tulane University

Learn how to use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online for their most common functions.

EndNote X9 Access

EndNote is a popular citation management program. You can use it to save and organize your references, insert and format citations and bibliographies, and to search library databases.

EndNote Desktop
EndNote X9 is available to Tulane students and faculty for free.

EndNote Online is the online component of EndNote. Use it to

  • access your collection of references from any computer with Internet access. You can also
  • search databases from it, and
  • export references from library databases to it, and
  • import saved references. You can
  • sync your desktop Endnote collection and your EndNote Online collection.

EndNote Online also has a Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in, so you don't have to be tied to one computer when writing a research paper.

All Tulane students and faculty have access to EndNote Online when you download the EndNote desktop software. You can sign up for an account at myendnoteweb.com. For verification purposes, you have to do this from a computer on the Tulane network, using your Tulane email address.

Functions

EndNote as a reference and full text organizer with a collaborative Web tool

  • Group references according to your research projects and attach up to 45 files per record for managing related materials.
  • Locate full text PDF files for you or create a reference when importing a PDF file. Synchronize references and file attachments to your EndNote Web account.
  • Share groups with other EndNote users easily and manage your ResearcherID publication list.

EndNote as a bibliography maker

  • Cite While You Write™ takes the pain out of citing and formatting references in Microsoft Word, and OpenOffice.org Writer 3 for Windows. You can also create bibliographies for other word processors using Format Paper (RTF files).

EndNote as an online search tool

  • You can search online bibliographic resources and retrieve references directly into your EndNote library. You can also export references to EndNote from your favorite online resource (see "Direct Export Providers" in EndNote Help)

Courtesy of University of Pittsburgh Libraries

How to Use Videos and User Manual

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.