Library Guides: Economic Indicators: Home

Business Databases

All Tulane library resources are licensed for academic purposes only. Using these resources for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited. Off-campus access is available only to current Tulane students, faculty, and staff. Tulane Library users are responsible for compliance with this policy. The complete policy on resource use is available here: Proper Use of Turchin Library's Licensed Databases.

What is an "Economic Indicator?"

An economic indicator is a piece of economic data, usually of macroeconomic scale, that is used by analysts to interpret current or future investment possibilities or to judge the overall health of an economy. Economic indicators can be anything the investor chooses, but specific pieces of data released by government and non-profit organizations have become widely followed. Such indicators include but aren't limited to: the consumer price index (CPI), gross domestic product (GDP), unemployment figures and the price of crude oil.

Source: Economic Indicator http://www.investopedia.com/terms/e/economic_indicator.asp#ixzz4ZGS3WqBi

Government Sources of Economic Data - National, State, Local

Bureau of Economic Analysis
This site contains both historical and current NIPA (National Income and Product Accounts) tables, state and regional data, and US international trade data released on a regular basis by the BEA. Data are available either in html or pdf format.
Beige Book
Summary of commentary on current economic conditions by Federal Reserve bank district. Published eight times a year by the U.S. Federal Reserve.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
"The Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta is part of the central bank of the United States. The Atlanta Fed territory covers the Sixth Federal Reserve District, which includes Alabama, Florida, and Georgia, and portions of Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee. The Atlanta Fed has branch offices in Birmingham, Jacksonville, Miami, Nashville, and New Orleans." Go to Research & Data to find reports, statistics, and data at the regional level.
FRASER
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) is a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. Includes statistical releases, policy statements, publications, archival materials, among other resources.
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
Consolidated by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Survey of Current Business
Economic account data prepared by the BEA and published monthly.

Additional Sources

Databases & Websites
Financial Analysis Resources with Economic Data

Conference Board This link opens in a new window
Access to research reports, business cycle indicators, consumer confidence and latest economic indicators compiled by The Conference Board a global, independent business membership and research association.

OECD Economic Data
From the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. Leading indicators include Consumer Confidence (CCI); prices include inflation (CPI); domestic product includes Gross Domestic Product (GDP). Includes data for the 35 member countries when possible.

These are located with the Financial Analysis Lab resources.

Bloomberg Academic
Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Please reach out to the library for information on Bloomberg certification. Freeman students, faculty, and staff can receive certification in Bloomberg Market Concepts and Bloomberg's Environmental and Social Governance modules.