Library Guides: Advanced Searching Skills: Articles

Business Databases

All Tulane library resources are licensed for academic purposes only. Using these resources for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited. Off-campus access is available only to current Tulane students, faculty, and staff. Tulane Library users are responsible for compliance with this policy. The complete policy on resource use is available here: Proper Use of Turchin Library's Licensed Databases.

Academic Literature

ABI/INFORM Complete
Searchable database for business-specific literature, incorporating 8,000 publications. Includes business press, scholarly publishing, and commercial research.
more...less...
Includes the Economist and the Wall Street Journal, as well as Experian company records, industry and market research reports, and analyses of countries and economies.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of core scholarly publications in disciplines including marketing, management, accounting, finance, information systems, international business, and more. Also includes industry profiles, market research reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts economic periodical literature. Citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969 covering topics including accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Users have instant access to full-text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full-text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management, plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science, and technology titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world. Full text available for most dissertations added since 1997. Selective coverage of Tulane University scholarship begins in 1957.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters (both Open Access and library-subscribed) on social sciences, humanities, scientific, technical, and medical research.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Open Access repository of social science research to include an Abstract Database on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents, and research papers of a number of Fee-Based Partner Publications.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.

Newspapers & Periodicals

ABI/INFORM Complete
Searchable database for business-specific literature, incorporating 8,000 publications. Includes business press, scholarly publishing, and commercial research.
more...less...
Includes the Economist and the Wall Street Journal, as well as Experian company records, industry and market research reports, and analyses of countries and economies.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of core scholarly publications in disciplines including marketing, management, accounting, finance, information systems, international business, and more. Also includes industry profiles, market research reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva pulls together full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, business news, company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. NOTE: Factiva allows for a maximum of 8 concurrent users.

Financial Times (London)
Financial Times is a London-based newspaper that emphasizes coverage of business and economics on a global scale. Access the current issues on FT.com on your device by signing in with your Tulane email address and password.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.

New York Times Online for the Tulane Community
Create a free NYTimes.com account using your Tulane email (tulane.edu) address for a one year subscription to NYT. Academic Pass grants access to breaking news articles, archived articles, blogs, video, and interactive features. Does not include crossword puzzles or eReader editions. For web, iOS and Android.

NewsBank/ Readex This link opens in a new window
Portal page to access all the Newsbank/Readex collections that Tulane subscribes to: Access World News (which includes the Times-Picayune Collection and Louisiana Newspapers), Archive of Americana (African American Periodicals, America's Historical Imprints), World Newspaper Archive (African Newspapers, Latin American Newspapers, South Asian Newspapers), Defining a Nation: The Literature of Early America, Hispanic Life in America, and Black Life in America.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus offers English-language news from nearly 500 U.S. newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, and major metropolitan newspapers. It also includes full text for more than 600 international newspapers, such as The Sydney Morning Herald, Hindustan Times, The Times (U.K.), Bangkok Post, Toronto Star, The Manila Times, The Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, and Hindustan Times. The database features more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources like ABC News (American), CBC (Canadian) CBS News, CNBC, CNN, MSNBC, and PBS.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.

Wall Street Journal
Two options - select these from this database list:
ABI/Inform - Available from 1984 - Present. Click on link to publications and search Wall Street Journal.
Factiva (Current content) - Use 'Search Builder' to select Wall Street Journal.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full page and article image scans of the Wall Street Journal with searchable full text of every available issue from 1889 to 2012. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.

WSJ.com and App Access

TUL, with additional support from the A.B. Freeman School of Business, subscribes to a site license that provides current Tulane affiliates a one-year personal WSJ subscription to WSJ.com and WSJ mobile/tablet apps. Users can personalize WSJ.com to track preferred company information and receive newsletters and alerts of interest in a mobile format.

Setup Instructions

Open this link - https://partner.wsj.com/partner/tulaneuniversity - on your computer or mobile device. This should open a page that will ask you to log in to the Tulane network, which will verify that you are a current Tulane affiliate.
Once verified, you will be redirected to a subscription setup form. Fill out the form and click on the Create bar. That will set you up with a WSJ login and password for your personal subscription, and the WSJ should open on your screen with your subscription active.
Watch your email for a message from the WSJ that will include information about mobile apps, newsletters, and other services related to your subscription.

Support

Forgot your email address? Login issues? Didn't receive an email? TUL is not able to reset/renew or create accounts for Tulane users. If you need support, contact the WSJ:

1-800-JOURNAL (1-800-568-7625) / Toll: 1-609-627-1351
Monday - Friday: 7AM to 10PM EST; Saturday: 7AM to 5PM EST
https://customercenter.wsj.com/contact

Turchin Business Library

Advanced Searching Skills

Turchin Library

Other Guides Useful for Business Research

Business Databases

Academic Literature

Newspapers & Periodicals

WSJ.com and App Access