Library Guides: Environmental History: Finding Articles

Journal Articles, Bibliographies, and Dissertations

While the databases America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts are the primary indexes of journal articles in the field of history, scholars interested in environmental history may also want to seach in Environmental Index, and interdisciplinary database dedicated to all things environment.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s Environment Complete database offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. The resource includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, indexing for more than 2,000 domestic and international journals dating back more than 100 years and more than 180 full-text monographs. Offering full text and indexing for these journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world. Full text available for most dissertations added since 1997. Selective coverage of Tulane University scholarship begins in 1957.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."

Getting full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the TU Link button: . This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to the library catalog to see if we have the full-text in print.

Interlibrary Loan
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.