Library Guides: Suggested Resources for Researchers @ Tulane University, Office of Research: A Guide: Research Databases

Research Databases

Web of Science includes metrics on the number of times a paper was cited by other papers, as well as Impact Factors for journals through Journal Citation Reports. Web of Science also includes conference abstracts and other published material not indexed in PubMed.

Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals. Search impact factor by category, journal or ISSN. NOTE: Use your Web of Science or Endnote username and password or create a new username and password for this database
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.

Clinical and Health Research Databases

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Reviews -- Trials -- Clinical Answers

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE – (Ovid SP): MeSH headings and limits with subheading topic categories, 1946 - present. Ovid MEDLINE(R), Ovid MEDLINE(R) In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily and Ovid OLDMEDLINE(R) 1946 to Present
OVID This link opens in a new window
Select Ovid Resources- Includes MEDLINE(Ovid); Global Health and Health Star (public health databases), plus full text books and journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.