Library Guides: Disasters and Public Health Research Guide: Databases

Databases for Disaster Management

Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)
Free civil engineering database providing access to over 170,000 bibliographic records of all American Society of Civil Engineers publications

Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Also known as Engineering Village.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A business research tool that provides full text which spans a spectrum of management research.

GEOBASE
OCLC. Covers: bibliographic references to important journals in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies.

Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. Covers: Health, safety & industrial hygiene
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Covers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. Covers: Human population dynamics, control, and effect on natural resource management.
The economy is an important aspect of Sustainability and should be seen as "a means to an end" not an end in itself. Major areas of coverage include: Issues in Sustainable Development, Measuring Sustainable Development, Environmental Law, Conventions, & Policy, Sustainable Resource Base: Atmosphere; Land; Water and Biodiversity, Economic Paradigm, Economic Drivers, Sustainable Production, Sustainable Energy, Sustainable Transportation/Mobility
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. Covers: Engineering, Technological risks, biological risks, natural hazards
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Updated monthly.

EMERGENCY TOXICITY SEARCHING - MICROMEDEX + RightAnswer (RightAnswer.com, Inc.)

MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information, drug ID, interactions, toxicology, NeoFax/pediatrics, clinical calculators, CareNotes (patient info), iOS, Android and Windows 8 apps available.
Select 'Download mobile apps' for installation and password.

Chemical Databases and Material Safety Data Sheets. (HAZARDTEXT & MEDITEXT) + ChemKnowledge® -- RegsKnowledge™ products.) You will be required to register/sign-in using your Tulane academic email address. Your Tulane email address will be your log-in.

RightAnswer.com, Inc (Academic Access)
Tulane users will need to register. Tulane network access is required. This product was called: Corporate Solutions. Academic use for teaching and students only.

RightAnswer® Knowledge Solutions Registration
Register using your tulane email address - username@tulane.edu

Clinical and Health Research Databases

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Reviews -- Trials -- Clinical Answers

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE – (Ovid SP): MeSH headings and limits with subheading topic categories, 1946 - present. Ovid MEDLINE(R), Ovid MEDLINE(R) In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily and Ovid OLDMEDLINE(R) 1946 to Present
OVID This link opens in a new window
Select Ovid Resources- Includes MEDLINE(Ovid); Global Health and Health Star (public health databases), plus full text books and journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.