The medical specality concerned with the treatment of disease, injury, and deformity by physical operation or manipulation. [L. chirurgia; G. cheir, hand, + ergon, work]
The Cochrane Reviews in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are prepared by authors who register titles with one of 52 Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review Group focuses on a specific topic area and is led by a Coordinating Editor(s) and an editorial team including a Managing Editor and an Information Specialist. The Cochrane Review Groups provide authors with methodological and editorial support to prepare Cochrane Reviews, and manage the editorial process, including peer review. These systematic reviews differ from other types of review in that they adhere to a strict design in order to make them more comprehensive, minimizing the chance of bias, and ensuring reliability. Rather than reflecting the views of the authors, or being based on a partial selection of the literature, (as is the case with many articles and reviews that are not explicitly systematic), they contain all known references to trials on a particular intervention and a comprehensive summary of the available evidence.
Biomedical and pharmaceutical research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.
Point of Care Tools
Point-of-care tools are research and reference resources that a clinician utilizes immediately at the point-of-care with a patient.
Clinical point of care resource for primary care providers. Monitors medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Dynamed Mobile app available for iOS and Android.
Select 'Mobile' from menu and enter your email address to send yourself the instructions, key and a link to download the Dynamed Mobile (EBSCO Publishing) app. Renew the subscription every 6 months from a TU computer.
Full text books & journals, Procedures Consult (medical procedure videos), First Consult (evidence-based clinical decision-making), MEDLINE search. Create username and password to download full text & install apps.
Interactive infectious disease tool. Includes diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy and microbiology. Especially useful for tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
Drug and disease information, drug ID, interactions, toxicology, NeoFax/pediatrics, clinical calculators, CareNotes (patient info), iOS, Android and Windows 8 apps available.
Select 'Download mobile apps' for installation and password.
Filter PubMed search results by clinical study category (diagnosis, prognosis, etiology, therapy) and scope (broad or narrow).
GeneReviews® NCBI BookshelfGeneReviews, an international point-of-care resource for busy clinicians, provides clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling for patients and their families. Each chapter in GeneReviews is written by one or more experts on the specific condition or disease and goes through a rigorous editing and peer review process before being published online.
Visual diagnostic decision support system for dermatology with medical images and information. iOS and Android app available.
Mobile install: Launch VisualDx at your institution and click “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device" or "Get Mobile" (top right of page). Then create a personal username and password, download app, launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in.
This link opens in a new window
