Use the Quick search (by AC, ID, description, gene name, organism. NO boolean operators).

for ExPASY Databases such as SWISS_PROT, TREMBL, TREMBL_NEW, SWISS2D PROSITE, PROSITEDOC and ENZYME-

UniProt (Universal Protein Resource) is the manually annotated and reviewed section of the UniProt Knowledgebase(UniProtKB). It is a high quality annotated and non-redundant protein sequence database which brings together experimental results, computed features, scientific conclusions and a central repository of protein sequence and function created by joining the information contained in Swill-Prot, TrEMBL, and PIR.

Finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. A basic bioinformatics tool compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information

PSI-BLAST (Position-Specific Iterative Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) derives a position-specific scoring matrix (PSSM) or profile from the multiple sequence alignment of sequences detected above a given score threshold using protein–protein BLAST.

Sequence similarity searching against protein databases using the FASTA suite of programs. From the European Bioinformatics Institute

Hosted by the Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG) of Barcelona

Clustal Omega is a multiple sequence alignment program that uses seeded guide trees and HMM profile-profile techniques to generate alignments between three or more sequences.

Find a gene or browse a chromosome

Zoom and scroll over chromosomes, showing the work of annotators worldwide.

Includes a) numerous sequenced genomes including several which have been assembled; b) studies that examine transcript and protein existence, abundance, and differential expression; c) epigenomic and functional studies to define regulatory and other sequence elements; and d) population studies to define small and large variations in the genome, transcriptome, proteome, epigenome, or the microbiome.

Ensembl is a genome browser for vertebrate genomes that supports research in comparative genomics, evolution, sequence variation and transcriptional regulation. Ensembl annotate genes, computes multiple alignments, predicts regulatory function and collects disease data. Ensembl tools include BLAST, BLAT, BioMart and the Variant Effect Predictor (VEP) for all supported species.

The database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP) was developed to archive and distribute the data and results from studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype in Humans.

GEO is a public functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME-compliant data submissions. Array- and sequence-based data are accepted. Tools are provided to help users query and download experiments and curated gene expression profiles.

KEGG is a database resource for understanding high-level functions and utilities of the biological system, such as the cell, the organism and the ecosystem, from molecular-level information, especially large-scale molecular datasets generated by genome sequencing and other high-throughput experimental technologies.

The Database for Annotation, Visualization and Integrated Discovery (DAVID ) v6.8 comprises a full Knowledgebase update to the sixth version of our original web-accessible programs. DAVID now provides a comprehensive set of functional annotation tools for investigators to understand biological meaning behind large list of genes.

Access to scientific databases and software tools in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, and transcriptomics. From the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics.

A Database of Drosophila Genes & Genomes

International database for the laboratory mouse.

Central point for information on NIH sponsored and related rat genetic and genomic activities and resources.

Comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and some related nematodes

A database of online information for zebrafish researchers