Library Guides: Pharmacology Library Guide: Databases

Specialty Databases for Pharmacology and Drug Research Topics

ACS Journals Search This link opens in a new window
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.
Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. Reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. Abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides research articles on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. Biology of bones and teeth, ubiquitous role of ionic calcium.

DrugBank
Open data drug and drug target database. Combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

EMBASE.COM - Drug Search
Choose "Routes of Drug Administration" with drug subheadings, such as "Adverse Reaction".

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) by LactMed@NIH
Database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Drug Information from NLM & NIH

PubChem
PubChem is a freely available database of structures, properties, and the biological activities of small molecules.
NLM - Drug Information Portal (Starting in December 2022, PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information.
A gateway to current, accurate and understandable drug information from the National Library of Medicine
more...less...
Starting in December 2022, PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information. NLM is retiring ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal, two other chemical property information sites, to better focus our development efforts on a single, integrated source of chemical information. All of the data found in ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal is currently available and will continue to be available in PubChem.
DailyMed (NLM)
NLM. Point of Care & EHR. Contains drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). RxNorm release, available as of April 3, 2017, includes Prescribable Names (PSN).
LiverTox (NIH)
Information about drug-induced liver injury caused by prescription and nonprescription drugs, herbals, and dietary supplements. From the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) and National Library of Medicine.
Medlineplus - Drug Information
U.S. National Library of Medicine - Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications provided by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) in the USP DI Advice for the Patient. Includes Supplements and Herbal Information

Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar

Accessing SciFinder-n Web Edition (PC or Mac) is a two-step process.

ACS Journals Search This link opens in a new window
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.

SciFinder Help & Tutorials

If a patron needs to create an account: Please go to https://library.tulane.edu/resources/scifinder-n and click on “Create Personal Account”. This will take you to the university proxy, if you are off campus, where you will need to login with your university credentials. Once completed you will be able to register for a SciFinder-n account.