Suite of lightweight software tools, delivers core ad-hoc epidemiologic functionality without the complexity or expense of large, enterprise applications.
Epi Info is easily used in places with limited network connectivity or limited resources for commercial software and professional IT support. Epi Info™ is flexible, scalable, and free while enabling data collection, advanced statistical analyses, and geographic information system (GIS) mapping capability. From CDC
HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Run by the National Institute of Health (NIH) through the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Many in .pdf format that may be downloaded for free, with registration.
The DHS program, a part of US AID, has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in 90+ countries.
The Spatial Data Repository provides geographically-linked health and demographic data from the MEASURE Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) project and the U.S. Census Bureau for mapping in a geographic information system (GIS).
Commercially Available Tests
Commercially available tests require professional standing to purchase. Test reviews are evaluations of the tests, not the actual tests themselves.
To purchase the actual test materials, you will need to contact the test publisher(s).
Assistance, expertise, and information to users of commercially published tests, the Institute promotes meaningful and appropriate test selection, utilization, and practice. To purchase the actual test materials, you must contact the test publisher,
Ways to search the Reviews include an alphabetical search, a category search, and a keyword search. The online index provides author, title, purpose of the measure, publisher address and other contact information, along with a cross-reference to the volume and page of the review in Mental Measurements Yearbook (1985-present). This feature makes the site particularly useful for libraries with print volumes but no online access. Full reviews are available in pay-per-view.
Free/Fee-Based: Free (index); reviews (Fee)
Review Date: 2/12/10
Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
Instruments that have been approved by the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Medical Outcomes Trust. Descriptions and informations is available about obtaining the tests. It is necessary to contact the author.
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. Previously called WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS).
MHS publishes an extensive line of clinical products that are specially designed to help clinicians and mental health professionals assess children, adolescents, and adults for the possible presence and severity of psychological disorders.
HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)
Information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health with links to PubMed.
