It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. Currently available titles highlight Irish & Jewish immigrant newspapers. This collection will expand as new titles are digitized, and will eventually include over 130 newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Full list of titles currently available and forthcoming.
This resource explores the history of Jewish communities in America bringing to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.
At this time the collection includes the full text of more than 1400 reports and publications issued by commissions in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam. The publications include reports, pamphlets, posters, and ephemeral materials.
Includes full text access to: New York Times, New York Tribune, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post , Los Angeles Times, Guardian, Observer, Pittsburgh Courier, New York Amsterdam News, Los Angeles Sentinel, Call and Post, Irish Times Newspaper
Titles include: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922); The American Israelite (1854 - 2000); The Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945); Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003); The Baltimore Afro-American (1893 - 1988); The Boston Globe (1872 - 1986); Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975); Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1994); The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004); Cleveland Call & Post (1934 – 1991); Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1922); The Guardian & The Observer (1791 – 2003); The Irish Times & The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016); The Jewish Advocate (1905 - 1990); The Jewish Exponent (1887 - 1990); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005); Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1994); New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993); The New York Times (1851 - 2014); New York Tribune (1841 - 1922); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916 - 2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002); The Scotsman (1817 - 1950); The Times of India (1838 - 2008); The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) and The Washington Post (1877 - 2001)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the New York Times from 1851-2007. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Note: Academic (Lexis-Nexis) can be used for the more current articles.
Contains contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond. Also, contains considerable documentation on Palestine and formation of Israel.
The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
Includes personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials, limited circulation publications and rare serials.
PLEASE NOTE: Some readers may find images within this collection disturbing.
Much has been published chronicling the role of Pope Pius XII regarding refugees, the Holocaust and relations with America during the war years and the immediate post-war period. This publication provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal comments.