Thanks for visiting the library! Check out the listing below for new and notable databases with access to books, maps, articles, and so much more! If you are curious about using these resources for your teaching, learning, and/or research, feel free to reach out to our team.
This module from ProQuest's History Vault Collection focuses on the growth, transformation, successes, and failures of one of the important American social movements of the 19th and 20th centuries, the modern American labor movement. Four major national organizations are covered in detail in this module: the Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO.
Power to the People: Counterculture, Social Movements, and the Alternative Press showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries. Ranging beyond a few specific movements, the archive paints a broad picture of the counterculture and many disparate organizations that represent this moment in modern Western history. Although the archive concentrates mainly on the United States and the United Kingdom, it also covers events and topics from around the globe.
Liberal democracies of North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms. This resource provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources and content on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and other topics.
Political Extremism and Radicalism is available in three parts: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century; Far-Right Groups in America; and Global Communist and Socialist Movements.
James Dombrowski was a southern white Methodist minister and intellectual who was active in the African American civil rights movement from the 1940s through 1960s. This collection consists of his correspondence and papers as leader of the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, 1941-1948, and executive director of the Southern Conference Educational Fund, 1948-1966. These interracial civil rights organizations were instrumental in laying the groundwork for the success of the 1960s Civil Rights Movement. Included are letters from colleagues at Emory University and Union Theological Seminary, exchanges with Reinhold Niebuhr, and drafts of Dombrowski's dissertation and other written works. Prominent correspondents include Albert Einstein, Lyndon Baines Johnson, John F. Kennedy, and Aubrey Williams. Also included are materials collected by Frank Adams for an unpublished biography of Dombrowski, including additional correspondence, clippings, scrapbooks, notes, and diaries. This collection consists of four series: Biographical Information, Correspondence, Subject Files, and The Frank Adams Files.
The American Jewish Congress (AJC) is one of the most prominent organizations dedicated to advocating for the interests of Jews in the U.S. and abroad. AJC Records spans 1915-2009, documenting the organization's activities relating to civil rights, the fight against discrimination and antisemitism, support for the State of Israel, and more. This module provides digital access to the first seven series of the AJC collection housed at the American Jewish Historical Society: I) History; II) Administrative Committee; III) Joint Administrative and Executive Committee; IV) Executive Committee; V) Governing Council; VI) National Biennial Conventions; and VII) Executive Directors. AJC Records are part of ProQuest's History Vault's "Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals" Collection.
The collection documents the evangelistic, educational, and medical mission of the BFM in Syria-Lebanon. It provides a unique view into the turbulent political forces that dominated Syria and Lebanon's history during the 19th century, and illustrates the difficulty of conducting mission work under the conditions of internecine religious warfare.
J. Edgar Hoover (1895-1972), the first director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, held longstanding interest in the Hollywood film industry as well as deep distrust of anyone on the political left. In August 1942 he ordered the bureau's Los Angeles office to report on Communist Infiltration of the Motion Picture Industry. Various FBI reports chronicled the working of major film studios such as MGM, Paramount, RKO, and Warner Brothers, and studio management and labor union power struggles. The FBI's investigation of Hollywood resulted in many thousands of pages and show a growing operation organized in the early 1940s that continued throughout the Cold War.
This collection provides a window into the implementation of the President's civil rights program in the War on Poverty. The collection contains correspondence, memoranda, reports, minutes of meetings, convention programs, and other records concerning the activities of Maurice Dawkins, Assistant Director for Civil Rights in the Office of Economic Opportunity. Files on congressional supporters, foundations, lawyers, and local and regional civil rights groups are included. Among the materials in this collection are files on Adam Clayton Powell and correspondence pertaining to equal employment and activities of the Senate Labor and Public Welfare Committee.
This collection of papers spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. Scholars and students in twentieth-century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
Sourced from the Library of Congress, City and Business Directories: Louisiana, 1805-1929 contains 92 digitized directories that provide a window on the names, occupations, and addresses of people living in Louisiana in the 19th and early 20th centuries. City Directories are one of the few means available for researchers to uncover information about day-to-day life through analysis of information on churches, public and private schools, benevolent, literary and other associations, and banks.
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies offers resources to investigate both crucial global trends in mass incarceration, and the detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries. The resource is organized around a selection of key historical and contemporary events and themes, bringing together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, training materials and artistic works.
The Cleveland Call and Post is a historic African-American weekly newspaper based in Cleveland, Ohio. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1934 to 2010.
The Pittsburgh Courier is a weekly African-American newspaper based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1911 to 2010.
The Norfolk Journal and Guide is a historic African-American weekly newspaper based in Norfolk, Virginia. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1916-2010.
The Chicago Defender is a historic African-American weekly daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1909 through 2010.
The Los Angeles Sentinel is a weekly African-American owned newspaper published in Los Angeles, California. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1934 to 2010.
New York Amsterdam News (also known as The Amsterdam News) is a weekly Black-owned newspaper serving New York City. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1922-2010.
The Philadelphia Tribune is the oldest continuously published African-American newspaper in the United States. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1912 to 2010.
The Baltimore Afro-American, commonly known as The Afro or Afro News, is a weekly African-American newspaper published in Baltimore, Maryland. It is the flagship newspaper of the AFRO-American chain and the longest-running African-American family-owned newspaper in the United States, established in 1892. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1893 to 2010.
The Detroit Free Press is the largest daily newspaper in Detroit, Michigan, US. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1831 to 1999.
The Jerusalem Post is an Israeli newspaper based in Jerusalem, founded in 1932 during the British Mandate of Palestine as The Palestine Post. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from the newspaper's founding in 1932 through 2008.
A comprehensive resource of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data, the text of the Congressional Record, and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Tulane has access to content through 2024.
