The Central American Portal

Located at The University of Kansas Libraries, this digital collection features broadsides from the Kenneth Spencer Research Library's William J. Griffith Collection of Guatemala and Central America. Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements.
Ubicada en las Bibliotecas de la Universidad de Kansas, esta colección digital presenta folletos de la Colección William J. Griffith de Guatemala y América Central de la Biblioteca de Investigación Kenneth Spencer. Los folletos, que datan de los años 1820 a 1922, son principalmente guatemaltecos, con un número menor de Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador y Nicaragua. Muchas están relacionadas con la política nacional y local e incluyen material electoral, manifiestos políticos y declaraciones gubernamentales.

A repository of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection and more.
Un depósito de la Colección de Efemérides Latinoamericanas de Princeton y mucho más.

Resource for all things Caribbean. It includes a significant amount of material related to Central America, particularly its coastal regions and connections to the Caribbean. You will find digitized books, manuscripts, maps, photographs,etc.
Recurso para todo lo relacionado con el Caribe. Incluye una cantidad significativa de material relacionado con América Central, en particular sus regiones costeras y sus conexiones con el Caribe. Encontrará libros digitalizados, manuscritos, mapas, fotografías y mucho más.

Archival Collections on the Independence of Costa Rica provided by the Costa Rica National Archive.
Fondos archivísticos sobre la Independencia de Costa Rica proporcionados por el Archivo Nacional de Costa Rica.

Unit of the Centro de Recursos para el Aprendizaje y la Investigación, Universidad Centroamericana José Simeón Cañas (UCA), with Special Collections on the Salvadoran armed conflict. Digitized material available.
Unidad del Centro de Recursos para el Aprendizaje y la Investigación, Universidad Centroamericana José Simeón Cañas (UCA), con Colecciones Especiales sobre el conflicto armado salvadoreño. Material digitalizado disponible.

Digital archive of annotated historical and ethnographic video material dating from 1974 to 2007. Hosted by Indiana University Libraries and created in collaboration with the Center for Research and Advanced Studies in Social Anthropology (CIESAS) in Mexico, the Institute of History of Nicaragua and Central America (IHNCA) in Nicaragua, and the Museum of the Word and the Image (MUPI) in El Salvador.
Archivo digital de material de vídeo histórico y etnográfico comentado que data de 1974 a 2007. Alojado en las Bibliotecas de la Universidad de Indiana y creado en colaboración con el Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social (CIESAS) de México, el Instituto de Historia de Nicaragua y Centroamérica (IHNCA) de Nicaragua y el Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (MUPI) de El Salvador.

Collection of posters produced by insurgent political groups, armed forces, and organizations in solidarity with El Salvador.
Colección de carteles producidos por grupos políticos insurgentes, fuerzas armadas y organizaciones en solidaridad con El Salvador.

Periodicals produced by Salvadoran insurgent groups housed at the LLILAS BENSON Latin American Studies and Collections, The University of Texas at Austin.
Publicaciones periódicas producidas por los grupos insurgentes salvadoreños conservadas en el LLILAS BENSON Latin American Studies and Collections, The University of Texas at Austin.

The Digital Archive of the Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala (Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive, or AHPN) aims to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation about Guatemalan history. This site currently includes around 20 million scanned images of documents from the AHPN, of an estimated 80 million total. This digital archive mirrors the structure and the arrangement of the physical archive that remains preserved in Guatemala. The Digital Archive is supported by the University of Texas Libraries, LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections, and the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center.
El Archivo Digital del Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala (AHPN) pretende facilitar la investigación académica y jurídica de un vasto fondo documental sobre la historia de Guatemala. Este sitio incluye actualmente unos 20 millones de imágenes escaneadas de documentos del AHPN, de un total estimado de 80 millones. Este archivo digital refleja la estructura y la disposición del archivo físico que se conserva en Guatemala. El Archivo Digital cuenta con el apoyo de las Bibliotecas de la Universidad de Texas, LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections, y el Centro Bernard y Audre Rapoport.

National Security Archive's collection of declassified U.S. government records, from the Salvadoran conflict's earliest years to the United Nations peace accord of January 1992 and beyond. Primary source materials tracing El Salvador's civil conflict and providing a comprehensive record of the decisions behind U.S. policy in the country and the region during the final decade of the Cold War.
Colección del Archivo de Seguridad Nacional de documentos desclasificados del gobierno estadounidense, desde los primeros años del conflicto salvadoreño hasta el acuerdo de paz de las Naciones Unidas de enero de 1992 y más allá. Materiales de fuentes primarias que trazan el conflicto civil de El Salvador y proporcionan un registro exhaustivo de las decisiones detrás de la política estadounidense en el país y la región durante la última década de la Guerra Fría.

The GAM historical archive contains testimonies from the victims of human rights violations during the Guatemalan Internal Armed Conflict.
El archivo histórico del GAM contiene testimonios de las víctimas de violaciones de los derechos humanos durante el Conflicto Armado Interno de Guatemala.

The Guatemala News and Information Bureau (GNIB) was an activist and solidarity group based in San Francisco, California, created in 1978 to support and inform the public about Guatemalan movements for peace and justice, indigenous rights, and labor rights. The GNIB systematically collected a wide variety of materials documenting all aspects related to the civil war in that country, including human rights abuses and the social and political responses to state-sponsored violence. The result was an unparalleled archive of gray literature (published and unpublished documents, pronouncements, action alerts, press releases, flyers, newsclippings, correspondence, and other types of ephemeral material), serials, and policy reports representing the actions and views of activist groups, government officers and politicians, journalists, international solidarity groups, as well as revolutionary organizations. Princeton University Library acquired the archive in 2002 and subsequently digitized over 14,000 items from the Ephemera Section of the archive.
El Guatemala News and Information Bureau (GNIB) fue un grupo activista y solidario con sede en San Francisco, California, creado en 1978 para apoyar e informar al público sobre los movimientos guatemaltecos por la paz y la justicia, los derechos indígenas y los derechos laborales. El GNIB recopiló sistemáticamente una amplia variedad de materiales que documentaban todos los aspectos relacionados con la guerra civil en ese país, incluidos los abusos de los derechos humanos y las respuestas sociales y políticas a la violencia patrocinada por el Estado. El resultado fue un archivo sin parangón de literatura gris (documentos publicados e inéditos, pronunciamientos, alertas de acción, comunicados de prensa, folletos, recortes de prensa, correspondencia y otros tipos de material efímero), publicaciones seriadas e informes políticos que representaban las acciones y opiniones de grupos activistas, funcionarios gubernamentales y políticos, periodistas, grupos de solidaridad internacional, así como organizaciones revolucionarias. La Biblioteca de la Universidad de Princeton adquirió el archivo en 2002 y posteriormente digitalizó más de 14.000 artículos de la Sección de Efemérides del archivo.

Resources on the Guatemalan armed conflict, peace accords, and organizations addressing the conflict's aftermath, legacies, memory, and historical clarification.
Recursos sobre el conflicto armado guatemalteco, los acuerdos de paz y las organizaciones que abordan las secuelas del conflicto, los legados, la memoria y el esclarecimiento histórico.

Newspaper covering general issues of Nicaragua's Atlantic Coast between 1917 and 1981, especially Bluefields.
Periódico que cubre temas generales de la Costa Atlántica de Nicaragua entre 1917 y 1981, especialmente Bluefields.

The URL opens to the World Newspaper Archive's search page for the combined Latin American Newspapers Series 1 & 2 gateway page. Series 1 includes more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere Series 2 features over 250 Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Latin American Newspapers. Featuring titles from: Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay.
La URL abre la página de búsqueda de la Hemeroteca Mundial para la página de acceso combinada a las Series 1 y 2 de Periódicos Latinoamericanos. La Serie 1 incluye más de 35 periódicos latinoamericanos de los siglos XIX y XX, con títulos de Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, México, Perú, Venezuela y otros países. La Serie 2 incluye más de 250 periódicos latinoamericanos de los siglos XIX y XX. Con títulos de: Belice, Brasil, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haití, Honduras, México, Nicaragua y Paraguay.

Digitized Collection of Nicaraguan newspapers dating from the first half of the twentieth century. The collection covers decisive periods in the history of Nicaragua, including the US military intervention (1909-1933), the struggle led by Augusto C. Sandino (1926-1934), and the emergence of the Somoza dictatorship (1934-1940).
Colección digitalizada de periódicos nicaragüenses de la primera mitad del siglo XX. La colección abarca periodos decisivos de la historia de Nicaragua, como la intervención militar estadounidense (1909-1933), la lucha encabezada por Augusto C. Sandino (1926-1934) y el surgimiento de la dictadura somocista (1934-1940).

1911-1912. 13 photoprints and postcards of the Panama Canal under construction and the Canal Zone.
1911-1912. 13 fotoprints y postales del Canal de Panamá en construcción y de la Zona del Canal.

Collection of resources relating to the Panama Canal, the Canal Zone, and the Republic of Panama. The collection primarily includes materials from the University of Florida's Panama Canal Museum Collection, Latin American & Caribbean Collection, Map & Imagery Library, and government documents of the Panama Canal Commission and its predecessor agencies that are held in the Panama Canal Center of Excellence at UF.
Colección de recursos relacionados con el Canal de Panamá, la Zona del Canal y la República de Panamá. La colección incluye principalmente materiales de la Colección del Museo del Canal de Panamá de la Universidad de Florida, la Colección Latinoamericana y del Caribe, la Biblioteca de Mapas e Imágenes y documentos gubernamentales de la Comisión del Canal de Panamá y sus organismos predecesores que se conservan en el Centro de Excelencia del Canal de Panamá de la UF.

Digital collection includes oral history interviews pertaining to the Panama Canal, the former Canal Zone, and the Republic of Panama. The collection of oral histories started as a joint project of the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries, the Panama Canal Museum, and the University of Florida Samuel Proctor Oral History Program. Additional resources relating to the Panama Canal are available in the Panama and the Canal digital collection and in the Panama Canal Museum Collection at UF.
La colección digital incluye entrevistas de historia oral relacionadas con el Canal de Panamá, la antigua Zona del Canal y la República de Panamá. La colección de historias orales comenzó como un proyecto conjunto de las Bibliotecas George A. Smathers de la Universidad de Florida, el Museo del Canal de Panamá y el Programa de Historia Oral Samuel Proctor de la Universidad de Florida. Otros recursos relacionados con el Canal de Panamá están disponibles en la colección digital Panamá y el Canal y en la colección del Museo del Canal de Panamá de la UF.

Access to the Panama Canal Museum Collection housed since 2012 at the University of Florida.
Acceso a la Colección del Museo del Canal de Panamá que se encuentra desde 2012 en la Universidad de Florida.

1913. 13 stereograph views of the Panama Canal and life in the surrounding Canal Zone area. Included are images of the Gatun locks, the Gatun Dam, the Culebra Cut, ships passing through the Canal, construction zones, the Colón harbor, and everyday scenes of the Canal Zone residents and workers.
13 vistas estereográficas del Canal de Panamá y de la vida en los alrededores de la Zona del Canal. Se incluyen imágenes de las esclusas de Gatún, la presa de Gatún, el Corte Culebra, barcos atravesando el Canal, zonas de construcción, el puerto de Colón y escenas cotidianas de los residentes y trabajadores de la Zona del Canal.

Central American History podcast produced by the Universidad de Costa Rica (UCR).
Podcast de Historia de Centroamérica producido por la Universidad de Costa Rica (UCR).

Interactive website with photo essays and video documentaries by Donna DeCesare, following the lives of young people and their families dealing with the impact of war, gangs, and incarceration in Central America.
Sitio web interactivo con reportajes fotográficos y documentales en vídeo de Donna DeCesare, que sigue las vidas de jóvenes y sus familias que se enfrentan al impacto de la guerra, las bandas y el encarcelamiento en Centroamérica.

Program by the Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (MUPI) in El Salvador. Features audio recordings of testimonies from survivors of the Salvadoran civil war.
Programa del Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (MUPI) de El Salvador. Incluye grabaciones de audio de testimonios de supervivientes de la guerra civil salvadoreña.

Interactive website featuring personal stories of Central American adults revisiting their wartime childhoods. It contains video interviews and photographs.
Sitio web interactivo con relatos personales de adultos centroamericanos que revisan su infancia en tiempos de guerra. Contiene entrevistas en vídeo y fotografías.