Library Guides: AI for Literature Reviews: Map Research

Literature Mapping Tools

Research Rabbit lets users discover publications related to one or more seed publications with the help of visualization maps and lists of earlier, later, and similar publications
Uses PubMed and Semantic Scholar search engine
Provides recommendations based on uploaded literature
These recommendations can be explored through two modes: 1) by Papers that are Similar work, Earlier work, or Later work or 2) by People that provide additional publications that These authors or Suggested authors have published
Network view allows users to see publications that are connected to one another. Timeline view plots publications by year, illustrating when the work was published in the field
Green nodes represent publications already in the user’s collection and blue nodes are not in the collection. The darker shades of blue represent more recent publications.
Only contains scholarly articles, doesn't contain books
Can share collections, and receive alerts
Syncs with Zotero collection
Free

Screen shot of a Research Rabbit search example

Inciteful contains both peer reviewed literature and books
To date we have two tools. Paper Discovery and the Literature Connector.
The Paper Discovery tool builds a network of papers from citations
The Literature Connector allows you to enter two papers and it will give you an interactive visualization showing you how they are connected by the literature
Microsoft Academic Graph: MAG is currently the basis for all of the underlying data used to construct the graphs.
Semantic Scholar: The source of all the abstracts rendered on the site.
Unpaywall: The source for all the Open Access links.
Crossrefs: They were the original source for all the non-citation paper metadata.
Open Citations: The original source of all of the citation data.
Zotero plugin
Free

Screenshot of Inciteful home page

Open Knowledge Maps presents you with a topical overview for your search query based on the 100 most relevant documents matching your query.
Knowledge maps provide an instant overview of a topic by showing the main areas at a glance, and documents related to each area.
AI pipeline clusters similar documents together
Includes both closed and open access documents.
Searches either through PubMed or BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) API
The grouping of documents is based on article metadata
Creates bubbles- Closeness of areas implies subject similarity
Centrality of areas implies subject similarity with the rest of the map
Can cite and export
Free

Litmaps uses the citation network to discover literature that's easily overlooked with other search methods
Search for articles in their catalogue of 260+ million papers
Data comes from Crossref, Semantic Scholar, OpenAlex
A seed map is a small map of the top citations and references to an article.
Shows the top 20 citations and references related to a specific article
This will include some of your Seed Article's direct references and citations, as well as some of their citations and references.
Can save searches and create alerts
Can change the algorithms to: top connected, co-authorship search, or semantic search
Includes both open access and paywalled content
Can export and save
Free or paid (50$/month) versions

Screenshot of Homepage of litmaps

Connected Papers is a unique, visual tool to help researchers and applied scientists find and explore papers relevant to their field of work.
To create each graph, we analyze an order of ~50,000 papers and select the few dozen with the strongest connections to the original paper.
In the graph, papers are arranged according to their similarity
Uses Semantic Scholar
Free and paid (6$/month) versions

Schreenshot of Home page of Connected Papers