Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching Central America with The Latin American Library

Guide geared to present a wide array of materials on Central America from The Latin American Library for use by K-12 instructors

Selections from the Early Images of Latin America Digital Collection

Open Access digitized primary sources about Central America, its history, politics, geography, environment, and cultures are available from The Latin American Library and numerous other digital libraries and portal pages via the Internet.  Below are links and search tools to help you browse and discover!  Most of the individual images highlighted below have active links to their source collections.

Digital selections for Central America

Constitución de la República de Centro-América

Cover page from the 1824 printing of the Constitución de la República de Centro-América (1824). Rare Books Collection, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Mina de Rosario

Image of the Rosario Mine from the Tegucigalpa, Honduras Photograph Collection 42, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Two-page spread from a diary of Frans Blom

Diary account by Frans Blom on the John Geddings Gray Expedition for July 25, 1928. From the John Geddings Gray 1928 Memorial Expedition Papers Collection 86, Manuscripts, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Early View of Panama City

Engraving from the series, Hecatompolis sive Totius orbis terrarum oppida nobiliora centum, published by Petrus Schenk (1660-1711). The compendium consisted of 100 views of important cities of the world. Shown is a view of the the Panama City coastline with galleons and smaller boats in the foreground.  Map R21, Rubini Family Map Collection, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Ruins of la Ermita de Nuestra Señora de los Dolores del Cerro

Lantern slide image (GLSC77_B1_008) from the Guatemala Lantern Slide Collection 77, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Doña Violeta Barrios de Chamorro visits Matiguás, Matagalpa, Nicaragua, December 17, 1989

Image from the Chamorro Barrios Family Papers Collection 183, Manuscripts, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Correspondence from Joaquín Zavala Solís to D. Vincente Navas, June 14, 1880, page 1

First page of a letter written by Presidente Joaquín Zavala Solís of Nicaragua to D. Vincente Navas, June 14, 1880.  Among other issues, he writes about the deteriorating political situation with Guatemala, the inauguration of a new rail line to Costa Rica, and an upcoming summit of Presidents in Guatemala.  Volume II, copiador de cartas, Joaquín Zavala Solís Collection 57, Manuscripts, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Maya weaver, c. 1930s

Image from the Matilda Geddings Gray Photograph Collection 31, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

El General Don Francisco Morazán

Image of Francisco Morazán from a drawing by Francisco Cisneros (1823-1878) published by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras, 1993.  Honduras Photograph Collection 72, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Group portrait of Mayas from highland Guatemala, c.1940s

Image taken by Wayne Stoffle. Wayne Stoffle Albums 32, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Rubbing of the Tablet of the Foliated Cross, Palenque, Mexico

Image from the Merle Green Robertson Collection 133, Manuscripts, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Guatemala City Tourist Map

Tourist map of Guatemala City. Map 238, Map Collection, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Central America - Environment and Resource Extraction

The richness, diversity, and destructive power of the natural environment of Central America and its long history of resource extraction are two common themes that intersect a number of manuscript, ephemera, and photograph collections at the Latin American Library.  Some of these specific topics include:  earthquakes and volcanism; mining and mineral extraction; timbering; banana cultivation; coffee cultivation; cacao cultivation; and canal & railway construction.  

Below we provide images related to bananas and coffee.  In the future we hope to provide additional short slideshows that will highlight these additional topics.  For more information please contact us at lal@tulane.edu.

Resources Related to Bananas

Harvesting Bananas in Costa Rica

Keystone Company stereograph, c. 1910s, from the Eleanor Barton Stereograph Collection 80(1), Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Loading Bananas

Image of banana workers from the Wayne Stoffle Photograph Album 32, c. 1940s. Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Loading Bananas

Image of banana workers from the Wayne Stoffle Photograph Album 32, c. 1940s. Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Weekly Sailings from New Orleans

Duofold color brochure for the Tropical Fruit Co., circa 1960s. Latin America Print Ephemera Collection, The Latin American Library.

Train cars loaded with bananas for transport, c.1910s

Image from United Fruit Company photograph album. Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Bananas being loaded into a steamship for transport, c.1910s

Image from the United Fruit Company photograph album. Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Resources Related to Coffee

Transplanting Young Coffee Trees in Guatemala

Image 17 from the Sidney David Markman Photograph Collection 7, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

First Day of the Coffee Season

Image 18 from the Sidney David Markman Photograph Collection 7, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Los Nubes Coffee Mill

Image 19 from the Sidney David Markman Photograph Collection 7, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Mapa de las Lineas de Transporte Tributarias a los Intereses Comerciales de Nueva Orleans (1883)

Map by Julio Popper revealing the level of commercial activity linking the City of New Orleans with the Caribbean and Latin America.  Map Collection, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

Vendors and their wares

Glass lantern slide image (GLSC77_B1_035) of vendors tending their packaged wares in Antigua, Guatemala.  Guatemala Lantern Slide Collection 77, Image Archive, The Latin American Library at Tulane University.

SALALM Digital Primary Resource Visualizations

Click HERE for a short tutorial video of how to use the SALALM Digital Primary Resources visualizations (below).

Digitized Maps of Central America - Online

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.