Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rare Books Collection Policy

Related Resources at Tulane

The Latin American Library houses over 14,500 titles of rare printed items that include rare books, journals, newspapers, broadsides, and pamphlets. The Matas Library Historic Collections include important historic medical monographs and a number of rare atlases.  The Newcomb Archives and Vorhoff Library Special Collections maintains a non-circulating special collection library devoted to the history of women at Newcomb College and Tulane University, women in the American South, culinary history, women's education, prescriptive literature, Newcomb authors, third wave feminist zines, and the work of women in general, as well as the Marla Custard collection on sexuality. The Tulane Law Library maintains the The John Minor Wisdom Collection, which houses the papers and personal library of Judge Wisdom, who served on the U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals for 42 years. In addition, the Amistad Research Center on the Tulane campus collects archival materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights. This includes include 30,000 books and pamphlets from as early as the 18th century and over 2,000 periodicals, including newspapers, scholarly journals, literary magazines, organizational newsletters, and general magazines.  

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.