The Newcomb Archives & Vorhoff Special Collections holds a small collection of materials relevant to teaching in higher education as well as a cookbook collection, items relevant to women's education, prescriptive literature, and third wave feminist zines. The Newcomb Archives also collects primary material relevant to local women and those affiliated with Newcomb College in the Newcomb Archives.
The Amistad Research Center holds resources relevant to Southern black education culture that may be of interest to education patrons. Their collections include materials relevant to the lives of marginalized groups, notably women of color and lesbians.
The Howard-Tilton Memorial Library is one of 14 members of a cooperative consortium of southern research libraries called KUDZU, which includes a shared online catalog. Loan requests through this system receive priority processing and expedited two-day delivery.
The library is also a member of the cooperative Center for Research Libraries (CRL) in Chicago, through which we may borrow a wide range of rare materials for our users.
Undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty may borrow materials directly from the main library nearby at Loyola University of New Orleans through a reciprocal agreement called TU/LU.
Graduate students and faculty may borrow materials at other New Orleans area academic libraries, and at other academic libraries throughout the state, through the LALINC consortium. For more information about cooperative borrowing privileges inquire at the library's Check-Out Desk.
The Matas Library for the Health Sciences collection is notable for its inclusion of public health material relevant to women, and for psychiatric, genetic, and physiological studies that support Gender and Sexuality Studies.
