Below you'll find an array of digital primary source collections, databases, and portals that have materials relevant to Brazil. They are divided into different themes or types of archives.
Manoel de Oliveira Lima (1867-1928) was a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian and book collector whose career spanned Brazil's transition from empire to republic. Brazilian history and literature was the central focus of his writing and collecting. This database's monographs collection offers access to approximately 3,800 publications from the mid-16th through the early 20th century. The roughly 4,000 pamphlets in the collection date from the 19th to the early 20th century and are on Brazilian subjects or by Brazilian authors.
The National Archive of Brazil has databases for the following collections, many digitized: Sistema de Informações do Arquivo Nacional, Acervo Judiciário, Entrada de Estrangeiros no Brasil, Família Ferrez, Memórias Reveladas, Movimentação de Portugueses no Brasil (1808 - 1842), História da Holanda e Holandeses no Brasil, Ofício de Notas da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro, Processos do Supremo Tribunal Federal, do Supremo Tribunal da Justiça e da Casa da Suplicação, Biblioteca Maria Beatriz Nascimento, and SECOM (Serviço de Comunicações, 1940-1959).
Digital collection of executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, including presidential reports and messages, the Almanak of the Brazilian Royal Court, and ministerial reports. Project carried out by the Center for Research Libraries' Latin American Materials Project (LAMP).
Project developed in the 1980’s by the World Council of Churches and the Archdiocese of São Paulo with three main objectives: to prevent legal documents regarding political crimes from being destroyed at the end of the military dictatorship; to obtain and disseminate information about practices of torture under the dictatorship; and to promote education on human rights.
This digital archive provides access to nineteenth and twentieth century newspapers housed at the National Library in Brazil, such as "Correio Braziliense," "Gazeta do Rio de Janeiro," "Diário Carioca," and "Correio da Manhã"
The URL opens to the World Newspaper Archive's search page for the combined Latin American Newspapers Series 1 & 2 gateway page. Series 1 includes more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere Series 2 features over 250 Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Latin American Newspapers. Featuring titles from: Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay.
The Diario de Pernambuco is acknowledged as the oldest newspaper in circulation in Latin America. The issues from 1825-1923 offer insights into early Brazilian commerce, social affairs, politics, family life, slavery, and such. Published in the port of Recife.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The actual number is estimated to have been as high as 12.5 million. The database and the separate estimates interface offer researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
hosted at Vanderbilt University, the SSDA is dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World. Its largest and oldest collections were generated by the Catholic Church; the baptismal records preserved in Slave Societies are the oldest and most uniform serial data available for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World and offer the most extensive information regarding their ethnic origins.
Materials, such as personal letters and religious and commercial records, related to the 19th century German "Mucker" community of southern Brazil. Also included are military records of the war that led to the community's purge in 1874, and a bound manuscript containing theological and everyday reflections of the German-born Georg Klein, who immigrated to southern Brazil in 1853.
Housed at the University of Miami, the Pan American World Airways digital collection features annual reports, brochures, directories, periodicals, and timetables from 1929 to 1991.
From the everyday to the extraordinary, these rare diaries and the supporting correspondence describe the travel experiences, destinations and desires of nineteenth and twentieth century American women.
The project has wide ranging interdisciplinary appeal, offering first hand accounts of major historical events as reported by eye witnesses, detailing key interests and themes in women’s lives, providing snapshots of cities, cultures and customs, and charting the rise of modern tourism and the travel industry. Topics covered include: Emigration and daily life, Missionary Work, World War I, World War II, Boxer War in China, Frontier Life in America, Personal Enlightenment through travel, Education and Finishing School, Sightseeing, Holidays and Tourism, Customs, culture and leisure.
O Acervo de Literatura Popular em Versos da Fundação Casa de Rui Barbosa, o maior da América Latina, atualmente com mais de 9.000 folhetos de cordel foi formado a partir da década de 1960 e, dessa iniciativa resultou uma extensa bibliografia, composta de catálogos, antologias e estudos especializados.
Documents, images, videos, plays, articles, and poetry connected to Abdias Nascimento (1914-2011), an Afro-Brazilian artist, scholar, and politician. He founded the Black Experimental Theater in 1944 and later became the first Afro-Brazilian elected to the Senate in Brazil.
Comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Collections cover the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century, with access to declassified government documents. The DNSA is comprised of many database collections which can be searched individually or together. Created in partnership with the Nation Security Archive.
The resource comprises the following databases; Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990; The Afghanistan War and the United States, 1998-2017; Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy; The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962; Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990; China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998; CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010; CIA Family Jewels Indexed; Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010; The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962; The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update; The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink; Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999; Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden; El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984; El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994; Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980; The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988; Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994; Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976, 1877-1992, and Part III, 1961-2000; The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013; The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009; Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990; Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000; The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush; South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989; The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991; Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004; Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002; U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015; U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996; U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action; The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989; The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11; U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq; U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991; U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968; U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991; U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I (1954-1968) and Part II: (1969-1975); U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015; and The United States and the Two Koreas, Part 1 (1969-2000) and Part II (1969-2010).
Historical Newspapers in English
For students and researchers who can't read Portuguese, you can search these historical newspaper databases to see how Brazil was covered in the U.S. and U.K. press.
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.
This is advanced search page is a custom collection of the ProQuest's Historical Black Newspapers databases. The focus is to give researchers full text and cross referenced article searches in the: Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2010; Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-2010; Chicago Defender, 1909-2010; Cleveland Call and Post, 1934-2009; Los Angeles Sentinel, 1946-2010; New Journal and Guide (Norfolk, VA), 1921-2010; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2010; and Pittsburgh Courier, 1955-2010 as a whole. Individual titles may also be searched separately.
Advanced search page to access all ProQuest news databases—both historical and current—available through Tulane University Libraries. Encompasses the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Latin American newsstream, Le Monde, Historical Black newspapers, Jewish American press, and more.
Tulane provides access to: - The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) - The American Israelite (1854-1874) - The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942) - Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010) - The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010) - Baltimore Sun (1837-1998) - The Boston Globe (1872-1993) - Chicago Defender (1909-2010) - Chicago Tribune (1849-1998, 2008-present) - Civil War Era Newspapers & Pamphlets - The Christian Science Monitor (1908-present) - Cleveland Call and Post (1932-2010) - Detroit Free Press (1831-1999) - The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003) - The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022) - The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008) - The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) - The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990) - Latin American Newsstream - Le Monde (1944-2000) - Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010) - Los Angeles Times (2008-present) - New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010) - The New York Times (1851-present) - New York Tribune (1841-1922) - Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010) - Philadelphia Tribune (1841-1922) - Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010) - The Scotsman (1817-1950) - The Times of India (1838-2012) - The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013) - The Washington Post (1877-current) - U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
This database offers full page and article image scans of The New York Times with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Washington Post from 1877 to 2008. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
