Library Guides: Black Press in the U.S.: Louisiana Black Press

Intro

Given local interest at Tulane in the history of Louisiana, this section offers more granular details about accessing and identifying Black American newspapers and periodicals published in Louisiana digitally and on microform.

For further tips on locating print newspapers, jump to Black Press in Print & Microform.

Historical Newspapers

DIGITAL ACCESS

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Black Republican 1865
Community Leader 1985
Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883
Echo 1873
Inside New Orleans 1965
L'Union 1862 to 1864
New Orleans Daily Creole 1856
New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869
Observer 1900
Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882
Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Black Republican 1865
Community Leader 1985
Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883
Echo 1873
Inside New Orleans 1965
L'Union 1862 to 1864
New Orleans Daily Creole 1856
New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869
Observer 1900
Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882
Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 170 digitized African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Black Warrior (1864)
Blackview (1984)
Nkombo (1968-1969)

African American Louisiana Newspapers - Chronicling America
The Library of Congress's Chronicling America site provides digital access to select issues of The Black Republican (1865-186?), The Concordia Eagle (1873-1890), The Crusader (1889-189?), The Echo, L'union (1862-1864), Le Dimanche (1861-1876), The Louisianian (1870-1871), The Observer (1899-1900), The Republican Courier (1899-1900), the Semi-Weekly Louisianan (1871-1872), Southern Republican (1898-1907), and The Weekly Louisianian (1872-1882).

Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Proquest's Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive online database of 4,000+ historical newspapers.
To clip, save, and share articles, sign in and create a free Newspapers.com or Ancestry.com account.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

L'Union (New Orleans, 1862-1864)
The Black Republican (New Orleans, 1865)
The Concordia Eagle (Vidalia, 1875 -1885)
The Echo (St. Martinville, 1873)
Le Dimanche (New Orleans, 1861)
The Weekly Louisianian (New Orleans, 1870-1882)
The Observer (Baton Rouge, 1990)

TULANE MICROFILM

Monroe News Leader (Monroe, Jan. 7, 1968-Dec. 30, 1973)
Louisiana Weekly (New Orleans, Jan. 7, 1939-Dec. 31, 1983)
The Weekly Louisianian (New Orleans, Feb. 29, 1872-June 17, 1882)

LOUISIANA BLACK PRESS RESEARCH TOOLS

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals by James P. Danky (Editor); Maureen E. Hady (Editor)
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks ; PN4882.5 .A37 1998
Publication Date: 1999
This monumental bibliography lists African-American newspapers and periodicals published across the U.S. Each bibliographic entry includes information on which libraries hold print copies, as well as availability on microfilm.

Excel List of Louisiana African-American Newspapers and Periodicals
This excel list allows you to view and sort the Louisiana newspapers included in James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals (1999). Use the index numbers to find more information on each title in Danky's bibliography.

Current Newspapers

Louisiana Weekly
Emphasizes topics of interest to the African American community, especially in the New Orleans area and south Louisiana since 1925. Online archive 2011-present.
New Orleans Tribune
The modern New Orleans Tribune, founded in 1985, continues the legacy of its historic predecessor, among the first Black daily newspapers in the United States.
The Weekly Press (Baton Rouge)
This Black-led newspaper describes itself as "the number one minority newspaper in The Greater Baton Rouge area." It has been published for more than 40 years.
Verite News
Verite is a diverse, Black-led nonprofit news organization that launched in 2022. Its mission is "to confront the structural issues that are tearing apart the social fabric of our society, revealing and documenting the causes and impacts and engaging the community in seeking solutions."
New Orleans Data News Weekly
Over 50 years ago, Joseph “Scoop” Jones started a weekly journal that chronicled the lives of Black New Orleanians. Scoop told stories that were traditionally ignored in the mainstream news journals and papers; He focused on news and information that was quintessential to New Orleans’ African-American community. Through its crucial, breaking, and community-based story—especially during the Civil Rights Movement—Data News Weekly was dubbed “The People’s Paper”.

Black Radio

WBOK 1230AM
WBOK 1230AM is one of the oldest and longest running Black-owned radio stations in the country. The station covers news, current events, politics, cultural happenings, sports and much more.

Research Tools

Excel List of Louisiana African-American Newspapers and Periodicals
This excel list allows you to view and sort the Louisiana newspapers included in James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals (1999). Use the index numbers to find more information on each title in Danky's bibliography.