Library Guides: Activism and Lawmaking in the United States: Journal Articles

Intro

This section offers two paths for finding peer-reviewed journal articles:

Searching academic research databases
Searching within specialized journals

With the databases below, you'll cast a wide net; with the journals, you'll cast a narrow net.

Try each method for a thorough information search and see which strategies prove most fruitful.

Article Databases - Top Picks

Some of the most useful general academic databases for finding journal articles in U.S. Political Science are:

Library Search
Library Search is a discovery tool that pulls many Tulane library resources into one single search. Use filters to limit your search to Articles and/or Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles to access academic journal content.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Proquest's Education and Criminology collections, and more. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a key research platform for Legal Studies and Political Science. It provides more than 215 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and more. Sub-collections and databases within HeinOnline include: Law Journal Library, Criminal Justice & Criminology, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Gun Regulation & Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, United Nations Law, and U.S. Congressional, Federal Agency, Presidential, Statutes, and Supreme Court documents.

Key Journals

The links below will take you directly to the database through which Tulane offers access to the journal. Look for the 'search within this publication' or 'search within this journal' link or box.

Getting Full Text

Find an article that's behind a paywall, and not accessible via Library Search? Don't give up! You can request any article you need through Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive a PDF within 1-3 business days. Watch the video for instructions: