Library Guides: LGBT Sources in the Louisiana Research Collection: Home

Archival Collections

Sources for Louisiana LGBT History and Culture

Tulane University Special Collection

Stewart Butler papers, 1980-1993, Manuscripts Collection 1099
The Stewart Butler papers contain letters, notes, minutes, ephemera, and other materials from his career as a political activist and a founder of the Louisiana Lesbian and Gay Political Action Caucus (LAGPAC).
Knights d’Orleans records, 1993-2006, Manuscripts Collection 986
This collection consists of the records of the Knights d’Orleans, a New Orleans-based gay Carnival krewe.
LGBT Community Center of New Orleans records, 1992-2010, Manuscript Collection 1072
This collection contains the correspondence, executive board material, financial records, activity logs, and membership lists of the LGBT Community Center of New Orleans.
Louisiana Lesbian and Gay Political Action Caucus records, 1980-2001, Manuscript Collection 1073
This collection contains the correspondence, research, endorsements, financial records, executive material, bylaws, membership lists, and meeting minutes of the Louisiana Lesbian and Gay Political Action Caucus (LAGPAC), a group that focused on political activism for equal constitutional rights for Louisiana's LGBT population.
Rich Magill papers, 1980-1997, Manuscripts Collection 1107
The Rich Magill papers contain research materials and notes, articles, letters to the editors, and other material related to Magill’s career as an activist, writer, and publisher. The collection also includes minutes and other organizational materials from the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Lesbian and Gay Issues and the Louisiana Lesbian and Gay Political Action Caucus.
Alan Robinson papers, 1969-1997, Manuscripts Collection 1104
o The Alan Robinson papers contain materials related to Alan Robinson's life as LGBTQ and AIDS activist. It contains correspondence, organizational materials, newsletters, research, and political and medical resources related to the following organizations: Louisiana Lesbian and Gay Political Action Caucus (LAGPAC), Orleans Parish Democratic Executive Committee (OPDEC), New Orleans AIDS Task Force (NO/AIDS), and the Gay Rights National Lobby.
Skip Ward papers, 1970-2000, Manuscripts Collection 1074
o This collection consists of the papers of Blanchard "Skip" Ward, a resident of Alexandria, Louisiana who was one of the pioneering members of LGBTQ activism in Louisiana. He focused the majority of his efforts on the rural and religious members of the queer community. His efforts are linked to nearly every queer activist group in Louisiana and many others nationwide.

Periodicals

Ambush Magazine. (1982-present)
There is also a file of ephemera related to Ambush Magazine, filed under “Literature. Ambush Magazine” in the Ephemera Collection.
Impact: New Orleans Gay News. (1977-2000)
In 2000, Impact was absorbed by Southern Voice: New Orleans & the Gulf Coast. Issues from 2001 and 2002 are kept in the Ephemera Collection, under “Newspapers. Southern Voice: New Orleans & the Gulf Coast.” There is also a file of ephemera related to Impact, filed under “Newspapers. Impact.”
The Rooster. (1987-1990)
This Week Guide: New Orleans Entertainment in the Gay and Lesbian Community. (1990-1999)
This publication was later renamed New Orleans This Week and Weekly Guide.
The Whiz Magazine. (2001-2006)

Books

A search of our online catalog using the subject heading “Gays – Louisiana” brings up dozens of titles, with more being added every month. Important recent publications include Clayton Delery-Edwards’s The Upstairs Lounge Arson and Frank Perez’s My Gay New Orleans: 28 Personal Reminiscences on LGBT+ Life in New Orleans. We have a particular interest in collecting LGBT+ literature, fiction, and poetry.

Ephemera

LaRC’s collection of ephemera – small printed items intended for a short lifespan, including pamphlets, flyers, bulletins, programs, menus, and more – includes extensive LGBT holdings. These files can be searched by the name of a particular organization or business using the “Ephemera” tab on our website.

Benevolent Societies.
- New Orleans Center for Living
- New Orleans Women against AIDS
- Project Lazarus
Business Organizations.
- New Orleans Gay/Lesbian Business & Professional Association
Carnival.
- Krewes.
  - Celestial Knights
  - La Cage aux Folles
  - Lords of Leather
  - Mardi Gras Merrymen
  - Olympus
  - Petronius
  - Polyphemus
Churches.
- - Metropolitan Community Church
  - Second Stone
  - Word Harvesters
- Catholic Organizations.
  - Voices in the Desert
Civil Rights.
- Organizations.
  - Lesbian & Gay Conference
  - People’s Coalition for Gay Rights
  - Pink Triangle Alliance
Communications.
- Punch Line
Directories.
- New Orleans Gay and Lesbian Yellow Pages
Entertainment.
- Bars
  - Bourbon Pub
  - Good Friends
  - Gregory’s
  - Hits
  - Jewel’s
  - Lafitte’s
  - Lido
  - Loading Zone
  - Louisiana Purchase
  - Lucille’s and Friend
  - Mint
  - Moulin Rouge
  - Oz
  - Partners
  - Paw Paw’s
  - Phoenix
  - Play it Again Sam
  - Refuge
  - Shakey Jake’s
  - Tiger’s
  - Tracks
  - TTs West
  - Wood Enterprises
- Private Clubs.
  - Country Club
- Theater.
  - Theatre Marigny
  - Toulouse Street Theater
  - True Brew Theater
  - Zeitgeist
Fairs and Festivals.
- Gay Pride
- Leather/ Levi Lexicon
- Miss Gay Fashion of Louisiana
- Miss Gay Louisiana Pageant
- Mr. Gulf Coast
- Mr. New Orleans Contest
- New Orleans Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Film Festival
- Priscilla Wig Contest
Health Organizations.
- NO/AIDS Task Force
Organizations.
- Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network
- Homosexual Information Center
- Lesbian and Gay Community Center of New Orleans
- New Orleans Alliance of Pride
- New Orleans Rainbow Family
- Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays – New Orleans
Literature.
- Ambush Magazine
- Projector
- Pulse
- Q
- Q.U.E.E.R.zine
- Rhetoric, Rhyme, and Reason
- Rooster
- Small Change
- Tattler
- Vieux Carre Verite
- Whiz
- Wyrdo Weekly
Music.
- Choral.
  - New Orleans Gay Men’s Chorus
New Orleans Businesses.
- Royal Launderette
- Royal Street Grocery
- Tommys Flower Power Mart
New Orleans Mayor’s Office.
- Advisory Committee on Lesbian & Gay Issues
Newspapers.
- Impact
Political Organizations.
- Equality Louisiana
- Lavender Left
- Louisiana Lesbian and Gay Political Action Caucus
Religious Organizations.
- Jewish Congregations.
  - Lambda Chai
Restaurants.
- - Quarter Master
  - St. Ann’s Deli
- Coffee Houses.
  - Kaldi’s
  - Until Waiting Fills
Tourism.
- New Orleans.
  - New Orleans Informer