Library Guides: ARHS-3790: Art & Architecture of Brazil: Find Articles

Best Bets

Library Search: Articles
Select the RESOURCE TYPE "Articles" to limit your search.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. When off campus, sign-in with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Link and check for holdings accessible via Tulane. See this tutorial for help: How to Link Google Scholar to Your Library Account
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. *Use TU Link for access via our databases.*
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) This link opens in a new window
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.
Dialnet This link opens in a new window
One of the largest portals to academic content in Spanish. Includes journals from Spain & Latin America.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR is not the only archive of journal articles available online--far from it! Since JSTOR only has agreements to provide content published in certain journals, it's important to try other databases like those below for a more comprehensive search. These major journal databases cover content across the humanities and social sciences:

JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online is now part of Oxford Academic with access to full text of select titles published via Oxford University Publishing and affiliated publishers.
Taylor & Francis Group This link opens in a new window
Database for scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published by the Taylor & Francis Group.

Art & Architecture Databases

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text and indexing for art journals, magazines and books. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Also includes over 63,000 images.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Also contains references to obituary citations.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes content from 1929-1984 of art journalism, from more than 600 international publications.

Archeology & Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides digital access to AAA journals, newsletters, and bulletins including current issues of 15 key peer-reviewed publications such as American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.

Latin American Studies Databases

HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles.

LAL Article Finder
The Latin American Library Article Finder is defaulted to key periodical sources with Latin American and Caribbean content to simultaneously search the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS), The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), Historical Abstracts, MLA Bibliography, PAIS International, and Prisma.

No full-text access?

Find an article that isn't available full text? Sign in (with your Tulane ID and password) to Tulane's Interlibrary Loan and request the article! We can obtain a copy from another library and send it your way.

Inter-Library Loan is free service. In addition to journal articles, you can order books, microfilm, dissertations and theses as well as government documents. Questions? Write the Inter Library Loan department at ill@tulane.edu.