Skip to main content Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Survey Instruments and Methodology: A Guide

How to find questionnaires, surveys, measurement and testing instruments for research.

Medical Outcomes Trust

Recommended titles

E-book Databases for the Health Sciences

Ebooks may be searched by the book title in the Library Classic Catalog or in Library Search.  The key ebook vendors and databases with Tulane licenses which include health science topics are listed below.  

Selected IN PRINT

Suggested Medical Subjects for a Catalog Search:

  • Health Status Indicators

  • Data Collection--methods

  • Quality of Life

  • Relative Value Scales

  • Research Design 

  • Sociometric Techniques

  • Questionnaires  

Selected List of Print Titles

Eliminating Health Disparities: Measurement and Data Needs / Michele Ver Ploeg

Handbook of psychiatric measures / American Psychiatric Association. Task Force for the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures.

Health Research Design and methodology / Eucharia Nnadi Okolo

Improving survey questions : design and evaluation / Floyd J. Fowler, Jr.
Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c1995.

Instruments for clinical health-care research / Marilyn Frank-Stromborg, Sharon J. Olsen

Introduction to Survey Quality / Paul P. Biemer

Introduction to Survey Sampling / Graham Kalton

Methods in social epidemiology / J. Michael Oakes

Sampling of populations: methods and applications / Paul S. Levy

Survey Questions: Handcrafting the Standardized Questionnaire / Jean M. Converse

Survey research methods / Floyd J. Fowler, Jr. Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2009.

The use of psychological testing for treatment planning and outcomes assessment / Mark E. Maruish


Howard Tilton Library - Reference Books - Uptown Campus

Test critiques. / Test Corporation of America

Tests in Print: An index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests.

Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business / Richard C. Sweetland, Daniel J. Keyser.

 

Selected E-Books

Featuring

Need a Book?

Find Books

Use the Library Catalog to locate both e-books and printed books.   

Browse the Matas Library stacks using NLM Classification.  Books in the other Tulane Libraries are shelved by the LC classification system.

Need a book we don't have?  Registered Matas users may request that the Matas Library purchase a copy of recently published book for the collection, or request from another library using our free Interlibrary Loan Service.    

Use the NLM Catalog, LocatorPlus, to identify health science and biomedical titles outside of our collection.

E-Books

Retrieve results for online books in the library catalog by filtering by Online Resources.  

Online book providers in the health sciences.

---------

Examples of LC Subject Terms and Medical (MeSH) terminology:

LC Subject(s):

 Health surveys.
 Social surveys.
 Health status indicators --Measurement.


Medical Subject(s):

 Health Surveys.
 Health Status Indicators.
 Pain Measurement.
 Psychiatric Status Rating Scales.
 Psychological Tests.
 Questionnaires.
 Research --methods.
 Research Design.
 Clinical Protocols.
 Evaluation Studies.
 Data Collection.

OECD

OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.