This is the "Find
articles" page of the "Neuroscience " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Neuroscience  

Use this research guide to identify and access the best-of-the-best Neuroscience resources available for Tulane students, staff, and faculty.
Last Updated: Aug 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/neuroscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting full text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text attached, click on TU Link, which will search the Library catalog to see if we have access to the full text either electronically or in print (paper) form.

Peer-reviewed?

Many databases allow you to check off a 'Peer-reviewed' or 'Scholarly Journals' button on either the left or right-hand column of the search results screen. Checking this button will help limit your search to Journals which are considered Peer-reviewed. However, editorials, opinions, commentaries, and book reviews will still appear despite the fact they are not considered peer-reviewed articles. 

Important: If you are still unsure if your journal is peer-reviewed, use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to confirm for sure!

  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    Database of all of the journals, trade publications, and magazines available. Look for the Referee Jacket to determine if your journal is 'peer-reviewed'

Borrowing from other Libraries

Is there an article, book, book chapter or thesis that you want/need but it is not available through a Tulane Library? Don't let that get in the way of your research! Check out some of our easy-to-use and FREE services available to help connect you with the materials you need to succeed.

  • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
    If the libraries at Tulane do not have the article or book that you need, request an Interlibrary loan. The Howard-Tilton Memorial Library will then find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us or you directly.
  • TU/LU Card
    Undergraduate Tulane students are able to borrow and physically access the Library collection at Loyola's Monroe Library, right next door to Tulane.
  • LALINC Card
    Faculty and graduate students are able to get a LALINC card which allows them to borrow books from other Louisiana University Libraries and Colleges, including Loyola University.
  • OCLC Reciprocal Faculty Borrowing Program
    A program offered to faculty which provides borrowing privileges and on-site access to the collections of participating academic research libraries.
  • WorldCat
    A catalog of Library catalogs! Search WorldCat to see which Libraries worldwide has the item you need.
  • Suggest a Purchase
    Is there a book or Journal that you believe the Library should purchase? Submit a suggest a purchase request!

How to use this guide

This guide is designed to connect Tulane undergraduates, graduate students, faculty, and researchers in Neuroscience with the information and resources they need to succeed in this field. 

Information and strategies for locating items such as encyclopedia entries, peer-reviewed journal articles, protocols and methods, brain atlases, current books, and manuals can be found in the different sections. Also included are links to Neuroscience associations, reliable websites, citation management tools, and strategies for staying up-to-date in this field.

Questions or concerns about this Research Guide? Need expert search help? Need help developing your poster or creating a data management plan? Email us at either rhorlick@tulane.edu or tbremhol@tulane.edu

 

      

    Core databases for Neuroscience

    • PubMed (Medline)
      Best bet Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE covers 5,400 biomedical journals published in the United States and worldwide. Coverage from 1948-present.
    • PsycINFO
      Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO covers 2,500 journals in over 29 languages, as well as book chapters, conference proceedings and dissertations. Coverage from 1872-present.
    • PsycARTICLES
      PsycARTICLES covers more than 164,000 articles from over 80 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage from 1988-present.
    • Web of Science
      A multidisciplinary scientific index to over 8000 highly ranked scientific journals. Perform a traditional search for articles, or conduct a 'cited reference search' to find how many times an article has been cited since being published. Coverage from 1976-present
    • Biological Abstracts
      Database covering the life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. Coverage from 1969-present.
    • Embase
      EMBASE (Excerpta Medica) is a comprehensive bibliographic database that covers the worldwide literature on biomedical and pharmaceutical fields.
    • ClinicalKey
      Collection of clinical medicine resources. Includes reference books, full-text journals, medical practice guidelines, patient education handouts, continuing medical education materials, and drug information. Clinical Key includes information from MDConsult, FirstConsult, ProceduresConsult in a single searc
    • Biological Sciences
      Interdisciplinary database of citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Coverage from 1982-present.

    Other recommended databases for Neuroscience

    • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
      The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database that covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental index. Coverage 1930-present.
    • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
      The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. Useful for finding tests and measurements and for bibliography mining. Coverage 1861-present.
    • Animal Behavior Abstracts
      An index to significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects including (not limited to) learning, behavior, motivation, memory, and neurophysiology. Coverage from 1982-present.

    Research & Instruction Librarian, Sciences

    Profile Image
    Raquel Horlick
    Contact Info
    504-865-5643
    rhorlick@tulane.edu

    1st Floor
    Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
    Send Email

    Chief Bibliographer for Science & Engineering

    Profile Image
    Tony Bremholm
    Contact Info
    Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
    7001 Freret Street
    Tulane University
    New Orleans, LA 70118
    504-865-5609
    Send Email

    Connect with Google Scholar

    Google Scholar is a great tool for completing citations, locating known articles (e.g., from a Reference list or provided by a teacher), and for cited reference searching. 

    Top 5 Neuroscience Journals by Impact Factor

    Journal impact factor is a metric used to rate the quality of scholarly journals.  It is a measure of how often articles published in a given journal over the previous two years have been cited in the previous year. In descending order by impact factor:

     

    Find E-Journal

    Journal:
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip