Library Guides: Neuroscience Library Guide: Protocols, Imaging, & Measurements

Protocols, Methods & Tests

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques.

Current Protocols in Mouse Biology
Satisfies a great and growing need for a mouse protocol resource that covers all aspects of mouse biology under a "single roof". Readers will be able to find information that covers: the generation of mouse models; mouse husbandry, including the breeding and maintenance of colonies; clinical and molecular phenotyping of mice.
Current Protocols in Neuroscience
A one-stop resource for finding and adapting the best models and methods for all types of neuroscience experiments.
JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments [1940-087X]
A PubMed-indexed video journal. Peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. Tulane subscribes to the following sections: General, Neuroscience, Immunology and Infection, Clinical and Translational Medicine, Bioengineering, plus in Science Education - General Laboratory Techniques and Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology.

Springer Experiments This link opens in a new window
Compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, this resource offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols.

Brain Development methods & protocols by Simon G. Sprecher (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1493997327
Publication Date: 2020
Providing widely used techniques in genetic model systems and many complementing animal models
Chemical Neurobiology by Matthew R. Banghart (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781627033442
Publication Date: 2013-03-16
Assists with the design, characterization and validation of new chemical tools for neurobiology by providing detailed protocols of procedures and assays deemed essential for the successful development and implementation of such tools.
Basic Molecular Protocols in Neuroscience by John T. Corthell
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780128014615
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Contains explanatory sections that describe the techniques and what each technique really tells the researcher on a scientific level.
Neural Development by Renping Zhou (Editor); Lin Mei (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781627034432
Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Experts in the field contribute commonly used protocols to facilitate future research in developmental neuroscience.
Imaging of the Human Brain in Health and Disease by Philip Seeman (Editor); Bertha Madras (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780124186774
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
Examines the localization of neurotransmitter receptors in the nervous system of normal, healthy humans and compares that with humans who are suffering from various neurologic diseases.
Neuronal Cell Culture by Shohreh Amini (Editor); Martyn K. White (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781627036399
Publication Date: 2021
The latest aspects of the culture of neural cells are explored by experts in the field who also explain the practical and theoretical considerations of the techniques involved.

Tests and measurements can often be incredibly difficult to locate as many tests are proprietary and are therefore not freely available to the public. To learn more about locating and using test, scales, and measurements, please visit the Psychology Research Guide.

The Neuropsychology Toolkit by Richard L. Wanlass
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781461418818
Publication Date: 2012-02-07
This book provides information, guidelines, and materials to help future neuropsychology supervisees identify, understand, and avoid some of these problems and pitfalls.
Clinical Neuropsychology by Michael W. Parsons; Thomas A. Hammeke
Call Number: RC386.6.N48 C527 2014
ISBN: 9781433816871
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Leads users through the complicated process of assessing, diagnosing, and treating an enormous range of neurologic, neuropsychological, psychiatric, and behavioral disorders and syndromes
A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests by Esther Strauss; Elisabeth M. S. Sherman; Otfried Spreen
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780195159578
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Covers topics such as basic aspects of neuropsychological assessment as well as the theoretical background, norms, and the utility, reliability, and validity of neuropsychological tests.