Begun in 1994, the collection includes items from American literature, English literature, and Western philosophy. Search features allow you to look for specific titles and to search the content of texts.
The Gutenberg-e prizewinning books represent distinguished and innovative scholarship delivered with creative and thoughtful use of digital technology. These books have undergone an academic review process by distinguished historians brought together by the American Historical Association and produced through a close collaboration between the authors and the electronic publishing staff at Columbia University Press.
HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Whole book downloads are unavailable when a partner login is required.
Many of the etexts are from the November, 2003 Project Gutenberg DVD, which contains the entire Project Gutenberg archives except for the Human Genome Project and audio eBooks, due to size limitations, and the Project Gutenberg of Australia eBooks, due to copyright. As of July 2004 most current PG texts are available here, usually within the week of release. There are also public domain and creative commons works from many other sources.
The OTA collects, catalogues, preserves and distributes high-quality digital resources for research and teaching. We currently hold thousands of texts in more than 25 different languages, and are actively working to extend our catalogue of holdings.
Contains digitized versions of texts going back to the 15th century. The long term goal of the Million Book Project is for this collection to one day contain every published work in existence. Currently, there are over 1.5 million books in this collection.