Your First Stop for Health Information!
Health Hotlines
The National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Health Hotlines is now available as an app for the iPhone and iPod Touch. Health Hotlines is also compatible with the iPad. Health Hotlines is also available on the NLM’s website.
Medspeak in Plain Language
Medspeak in Plain Language Brochure
Medspeak in Plain Language brochures arewritten specifically for consumers. The brochure was rewritten with the help of the Massachusetts Health Sciences Library Network's (MAHSLIN) Working Group for Health Literacy.
Audio Information, Translations, etc.
- Healthy Roads Media
A source of quality health information in many languages and multiple formats.
Find a Health Organization
- DIRLINE
Directory of Health Organizations. Find toll-free numbers and contacts consumer health organizations. - Health HotlinesThe National Library of Medicine is pleased to offer this online database of health-related organizations operating toll-free telephone services. The database also includes information on services and publications available in Spanish.
- FAQ: Finding Consumer Health Informaiton
- NIH - Institutes, Centers & Offices
Genetics for Consumers
Featured Resources: from Tulane
- NolaFreeHealthCare.com
An online listing of New Orleans–area clinics that offer free or low-cost medical care to those who don’t have insurance and can’t afford health care. Created by Richard Brucker, Tulane Medical Student. - Feel Good Guide: How to Stay Healthy
The Prevention Research Center at Tulane. (28 page, .pdf)
Small dietary and lifestype changes can make a big difference in health. - Holly On Health: Health + Medical insights for generation Y
A Tulane medical student blogs about all things healthy. - Exercise Menu - How to Workout and Lose Weight
Jacques Courseault, M.D., Tulane Alum
Clinical Effectiveness Reviews
Reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports for professionals.
- PubMed Health
PubMed Health is based on systematic reviews of clinical trials. These clinical effectiveness reviews can show what treatments and prevention methods have been proven to work—and what remains unknown.
Search of Websites from this Consumer Health Portal
Matas Library Disclaimer
By becoming more knowledgeable about your condition, you can be better prepared to talk with your health care provider and take a more active role in your health care.
The Rudolph Matas Library provides this list of consumer health web sites for informational use only. These materials are not intended as a substitute for the care of a qualified health care provider. The ideas presented are the opinions of their respective authors and may or may not agree with the opinion of your provider. All questions and concerns about your health should be taken to your health care provider. Tulane's Rudolph Matas Library assumes no liability for the information retrieved or its interpretation or application.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov - Provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public, easy and free access to information on clinical studies for a wide range of diseases and conditions.
MedlinePlus Health News
The Effective Health Care Program
- The Effective Health Care Program (ARHQ)
The Effective Health Care Program encourages the public to participate in the development of its research projects. Comments can be submitted. - Guides for Patients and Consumers

Health Literacy
Health literacy is defined by the Institute of Medicine as the “degree to which individuals have the capacity to obtain, process, and understand basic health information and services needed to make appropriate health decisions”
- Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. A prescription to end confusion.
Washington, DC: The Institute; 2004.
MEDLINEPlus - Your First Stop for Health Information
Kaiser Health News
"...no one has ever complained that things were too simple. Everybody wants clear communication."
- Helping Patients Understand Their Medical Treatment
By Sandra G. Boodman (Mar 01, 2011) Kaiser Health News, in collorboration with The Washington Post - Plain Writing Act
New U.S. law, which contains explicit references to health literacy, requires that information about medications and providers be made accessible to those with limited skills. - National Action Plan To Improve Health Literacy

Five Things Physicians and Patients Should Question
- Choosing Wisely - An initiative of the ABIM foundation
Five Things Physicians and Patients Should Question - American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation

- Physician Groups Call for Fewer Medical Tests - Health Day, Wednesday April 4, 2012
In the News! - Many patients could safely avoid X-rays, MRIs, heart stress tests and other common procedures, docs say.
millionhearts.hhs.gov - Stroke & Heart Attack Risk Assessment Calculators
Websites
Some recommended sites for health information.
- MEDLINEPlus.gov

- healthfinder.gov
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services together with other Federal agencies. A key resource for finding prevention information. - Center for Disease Control (CDC): A-Z IndexA tool that makes the CDC.gov Web site easier to use. It helps you quickly find and retrieve specific information.
- Consumer Health Publications: The Federal Consumer Information Center (FCIC)
Health publications are available to order, to download, or to read online. - National Institute of Health - For A-Z in consumer health topics.
Includes Spanish version. - NOAH - (New York Online Access to Health)
Provides access to full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish. - Family Doctor Health- information written and reviewed by the physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians.
- WebMD - Better informaton, Better health

- Merck Manual
Explains disorders, symptoms, diagnosis and prevention & treatment. - eMedTV - Health Information Brought to Life
A collection of Medical videos. - Aetna InteliHealth
Harvard Medical School experts write on health topics - The Cochrane Library- Information written for Patients/Consumers
‘Plain Language Summaries’ are written specifically for consumers and patients to highlight information and research findings on the effectiveness of a treatment in a Cochrane review.



Loading...


Loading...
