Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Latin American Art & Architecture Research Guide

Latin American Art and Architecture Research Guide

Art & Architecture Collections at LAL

Looking for primary sources? LAL Special Collections include Manuscript Collections, NewspapersRare Books & Ephemera, Maps and an Image ArchiveClick on these tabs  to discover different LAL Special Collections items of interest.

The tabs will allow you to explore just a few examples of the kinds of materials held in the LAL’s Special Collections relevant to research in Art & Architecture. To start searching for additional materials try the “Search for Primary Sources at LAL” tab.  

Click on these tabs  to discover different LAL Special Collections of interest.

Spratling-Taxco Collection, 1930-2010
A collection of original silver design drawings and sketches for book illustrations, photographs, taped and videotaped interviews of silver designers and silversmiths, prints portfolios, two watercolor paintings, and other material documenting the work of William Spratling and other major figures in Mexico's modern silver and crafts industry, including Chato, Coco, Miguel, and Antonio Castillo (Los Castillo), Margot van Voorhies Carr (d. 1985), Frederick W. Davis (1880-1961) and Sigfrido Pineda (b. 1929). 

 

Latin American Art Ephemera Collection 
An artificial collection of art exhibit brochures, advertisements, souvenir cards, museum guides, catalogs, flyers, posters, and other forms of ephemera from countries across Latin America and the Caribbean spanning the late 19th century to the present that form a resource relevant to the study of fine arts, artists, artistic movements, and the business of buying, selling, and collecting fine art in Latin America and the United States.

Emilio Harth-Terré Collection, 1930-1970
A collection of the professional papers of the noted Peruvian architect, Emilio Harth-Terré.  The materials relate to the art and architecture of colonial Peru.  The collection of 36 boxes and 5 oversize folders includes some professional correspondence; manuscripts of articles by Harth-Terré and others; reprints and clippings; very extensive notes and transcripts of documents in various civil and church archives in Peru on gold- and silversmiths and Indian, black, and mestizo artisans and painters; also notes on various colonial public buildings, churches, convents, and monasteries.

Abraham Guillén Photograph Collection, 1940s-1960s
A collection of 860 photographs of the lifestyle of indigenous people, city and country scenes, archaeological sites, colonial and modern architecture and pre-Hispanic, colonial and folk art in Peru.

One of many photograph collections that document Colonial architecture in cities and towns throughout several countries in Latin America.

LAL Special Collections include Manuscript Collections, NewspapersRare Books & EphemeraMaps and an Image Archive.

Interested in searching?  Each collection link above contains holdings information and search tools.  Search for manuscripts and images in our Special Collections Holdings and rare books in our Library Catalog.  Questions?  Please write Christine Hernández (chernand@tulane.edu), Curator of Special Collections at LAL.

Loading

Art & Architecture Primary Sources

Primary Sources - LANIC

The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) at the University of Texas at Austin is an important directory of resources in Latin America.