Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Scholarly Impact Research Guide

This guide provides information and instruction on the different types of metrics used to evaluate and locate one's scholarly metrics.

Using InCites

InCites is a citation-based evaluation tool for academic and government administrators to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark output against peers and aspirational peers in a national or international context.

InCites  is built on a single dataset source from the Web of Science™ Core Collection, 

 

Enter in the name of the Author: (Last name, Initials). You can search different name variations at the same time. 

 custom dataset is a collection of documents from Web of Science Core Collection that you define. You can perform the same analyses on a custom dataset that you can perform on the full InCites dataset.

There are two ways to create a custom dataset:

  • Search Web of Science Core Collection for documents and use the Save to InCites feature to create the dataset.
  • From InCites, upload a file of document identifiers.

Save to InCites from Web of Science Core Collection

Sign in to Web of Science Core Collection. To use the Save to InCites feature, you must sign in. 

  • Perform a search. Limit retrieval to documents published 1980 or later. 
  • Select Save to InCites.
  • In the Save to InCites window, accept the default dataset name or create a new one.
  • Click Save.

All of the documents retrieved by the search will be added to the custom dataset (up to 50,000).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Upload a File of Identifiers

A custom dataset can be created from a list of document identifiers that you compile. There are three valid identifiers:

  • Web of Science Core Collection accession number. Example: WOS:000388713500004
  • MEDLINE ID (PubMed ID). Example: MEDLINE:24843332
  • DOI. Example: 10.1088/1478-3975/13/6/066006

The format of the file you upload must be *.csv or *.txt. Each identifier should be on a separate line.

To upload the file:

In InCites, go to My Folders.

  • Click the Create button and select Dataset.
  • In the Upload Custom Dataset window, click Choose File. 
  • Navigate to the folder on your computer or network that contains the file.
  • Enter a name for the custom dataset.
  • Click Upload.

Once created, the custom dataset will appear in the My Items folder.

You will receive an email notifying you that the dataset has been created. 

Loading ...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.